Chutney Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This recipe was quick, easy, and absolutely delicious! I took into consideration some of the other reviews about the saltiness, so I skipped the seasoning of the chicken before baking. I did not have any hot chutney (I used apple), so I doctored it up with some red pepper flakes and added the soup mix a bit at a time so that I had the desired taste combonation. In order to make this dinner a simple and easy one stop meal, I quartered up some new potatoes, drizzled them with olive oil, and tossed them with the remaining onion soup mix. I then placed the potatoes on one side of the casserole and the chicken on the other half, I scattered several jalapeno slices on top of the chicken and potatoes, covered with foil, baked half way, removed the foil and finished baking. The results were fabulous! My husband and a dinner companion went on and on about my culinary skills (I loved it)! This recipe had such a harmony of flavors; the sweet-and-sour of the fruit in the chutney, the salty flavor from the onion soup mix, the spice of the red pepper flakes and the jalepenos; it was truly a symphony for your tastebuds! I served this with a green salad and fresh baked french rolls. Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
This was DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!! I used mango chutney and skipped the salt, but WOW!!! Simply amazing .... it had this cool sweet/sour almost teriyaki/BBQ taste: but it was simple to cook and left no mess! My husband and I both loved this, and it will become a regular recipe for me!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I was plesantly surprised by this. After I made it I wasn't sure I'd like it. By itself, the chutney/onion soup mix tastes weird, but it is great on the chicken. I used peach chutney and added some cayenne and brown sugar. Next time I will try mango chutney. I used the full package of onion soup mix (but didn't salt the chicken) and had no problem w/saltiness. I also made it with potatoes that I sprayed w/butter flavored cooking spray and mixed w/another package of onion soup mix, and they complimented each other very nicely. This was also SUPER easy, which is a huge plus. I just recently tried it w/mango chutney. Highly recommend that over the peach. Again I added cayenne and brown suger. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
So easy to prepare, needs little tending or fussing--just a turn or two--and the result is an exotic presentation that makes people think the cook did some labor-intensive cooking just for them. A fresh fruit garnish is pretty, or cilantro sprigs look good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This looks like you spent a lot of time in the kitchen. Very impressive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Saint George Parish, Saint Vincent And The Grenadines
Living In: Fitches Creek, Saint George, Antigua And Barbuda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This will definitely be a regular for us. We both work and have dogs to walk to something that I can prep in 10 minutes and pop in the oven is KEY! I also used mango chutney and added cayenne pepper. I would suggest not salting the chicken first (especially if using the cayenne pepper) because I thought it was a little salty although my boyfriend didn't. We served it with the french style green beans and mushrooms from this site and dinner rolls. A really nice and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I used the mango chutney sauce and it was YUMMY!! There were no leftovers, everyone went back for seconds. So simple to prepare and I got MAJOR compliments. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Made several chicken recipes from this site today. This one was the best. I used my own homemade mango-apple chutney. Although saltiness from the onion mix was definitely a problem with the other chicken recipe I tried, this one balances quite well with the sweetness of the chutney. Couldn't be easier! A real winner when you can get top quality taste with absolute minimum effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Talk about easy! High flavor with no work, and good enough to serve for company. Husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This is a great recipe. Not only is it as easy as it could be, it is delicious. My husband (Mr. Gourmet) took one bite and said, "Make this again." I almost had tears of joy because it took so little time to prepare. Served it with white rice and steamed broccoli and there was nothing left. I would make this for company. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States