Chutney Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This will definitely be a regular for us. We both work and have dogs to walk to something that I can prep in 10 minutes and pop in the oven is KEY! I also used mango chutney and added cayenne pepper. I would suggest not salting the chicken first (especially if using the cayenne pepper) because I thought it was a little salty although my boyfriend didn't. We served it with the french style green beans and mushrooms from this site and dinner rolls. A really nice and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I liked it, but not enough to make it again. It's a bit tangy for me. However, my husband loved it, so it's a "wash."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This looks like you spent a lot of time in the kitchen. Very impressive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Saint George Parish, Saint Vincent And The Grenadines
Living In: Fitches Creek, Saint George, Antigua And Barbuda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I was plesantly surprised by this. After I made it I wasn't sure I'd like it. By itself, the chutney/onion soup mix tastes weird, but it is great on the chicken. I used peach chutney and added some cayenne and brown sugar. Next time I will try mango chutney. I used the full package of onion soup mix (but didn't salt the chicken) and had no problem w/saltiness. I also made it with potatoes that I sprayed w/butter flavored cooking spray and mixed w/another package of onion soup mix, and they complimented each other very nicely. This was also SUPER easy, which is a huge plus. I just recently tried it w/mango chutney. Highly recommend that over the peach. Again I added cayenne and brown suger. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
This was DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!! I used mango chutney and skipped the salt, but WOW!!! Simply amazing .... it had this cool sweet/sour almost teriyaki/BBQ taste: but it was simple to cook and left no mess! My husband and I both loved this, and it will become a regular recipe for me!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This recipe was quick, easy, and absolutely delicious! I took into consideration some of the other reviews about the saltiness, so I skipped the seasoning of the chicken before baking. I did not have any hot chutney (I used apple), so I doctored it up with some red pepper flakes and added the soup mix a bit at a time so that I had the desired taste combonation. In order to make this dinner a simple and easy one stop meal, I quartered up some new potatoes, drizzled them with olive oil, and tossed them with the remaining onion soup mix. I then placed the potatoes on one side of the casserole and the chicken on the other half, I scattered several jalapeno slices on top of the chicken and potatoes, covered with foil, baked half way, removed the foil and finished baking. The results were fabulous! My husband and a dinner companion went on and on about my culinary skills (I loved it)! This recipe had such a harmony of flavors; the sweet-and-sour of the fruit in the chutney, the salty flavor from the onion soup mix, the spice of the red pepper flakes and the jalepenos; it was truly a symphony for your tastebuds! I served this with a green salad and fresh baked french rolls. Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
I had regular chutney..not the hot, so I added chili pepper and brown sugar to it. I wouldn't use as much dry onion soup mix, because it seemed it was too salty, so be careful on your seasoning of salt beforehand because I don't think it needed it. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
So easy to prepare, needs little tending or fussing--just a turn or two--and the result is an exotic presentation that makes people think the cook did some labor-intensive cooking just for them. A fresh fruit garnish is pretty, or cilantro sprigs look good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-98 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States