Chutney Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2000
So easy to prepare, needs little tending or fussing--just a turn or two--and the result is an exotic presentation that makes people think the cook did some labor-intensive cooking just for them. A fresh fruit garnish is pretty, or cilantro sprigs look good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2001
I had regular chutney..not the hot, so I added chili pepper and brown sugar to it. I wouldn't use as much dry onion soup mix, because it seemed it was too salty, so be careful on your seasoning of salt beforehand because I don't think it needed it. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
This recipe was quick, easy, and absolutely delicious! I took into consideration some of the other reviews about the saltiness, so I skipped the seasoning of the chicken before baking. I did not have any hot chutney (I used apple), so I doctored it up with some red pepper flakes and added the soup mix a bit at a time so that I had the desired taste combonation. In order to make this dinner a simple and easy one stop meal, I quartered up some new potatoes, drizzled them with olive oil, and tossed them with the remaining onion soup mix. I then placed the potatoes on one side of the casserole and the chicken on the other half, I scattered several jalapeno slices on top of the chicken and potatoes, covered with foil, baked half way, removed the foil and finished baking. The results were fabulous! My husband and a dinner companion went on and on about my culinary skills (I loved it)! This recipe had such a harmony of flavors; the sweet-and-sour of the fruit in the chutney, the salty flavor from the onion soup mix, the spice of the red pepper flakes and the jalepenos; it was truly a symphony for your tastebuds! I served this with a green salad and fresh baked french rolls. Thank you very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
This was DELICIOUS!!!!!!!!! I used mango chutney and skipped the salt, but WOW!!! Simply amazing .... it had this cool sweet/sour almost teriyaki/BBQ taste: but it was simple to cook and left no mess! My husband and I both loved this, and it will become a regular recipe for me!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
I was plesantly surprised by this. After I made it I wasn't sure I'd like it. By itself, the chutney/onion soup mix tastes weird, but it is great on the chicken. I used peach chutney and added some cayenne and brown sugar. Next time I will try mango chutney. I used the full package of onion soup mix (but didn't salt the chicken) and had no problem w/saltiness. I also made it with potatoes that I sprayed w/butter flavored cooking spray and mixed w/another package of onion soup mix, and they complimented each other very nicely. This was also SUPER easy, which is a huge plus. I just recently tried it w/mango chutney. Highly recommend that over the peach. Again I added cayenne and brown suger. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
This looks like you spent a lot of time in the kitchen. Very impressive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Saint George Parish, Saint Vincent And The Grenadines
Living In: Fitches Creek, Saint George, Antigua And Barbuda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
I liked it, but not enough to make it again. It's a bit tangy for me. However, my husband loved it, so it's a "wash."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
This will definitely be a regular for us. We both work and have dogs to walk to something that I can prep in 10 minutes and pop in the oven is KEY! I also used mango chutney and added cayenne pepper. I would suggest not salting the chicken first (especially if using the cayenne pepper) because I thought it was a little salty although my boyfriend didn't. We served it with the french style green beans and mushrooms from this site and dinner rolls. A really nice and easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I have been looking for new ways to make chicken and this was delicious!!!! Thank you. Even my picky 11 year old daughter liked it, WOW.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I used the mango chutney sauce and it was YUMMY!! There were no leftovers, everyone went back for seconds. So simple to prepare and I got MAJOR compliments. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States