Chutney Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I've made this 3 times now, and we love it! The only thing that takes any time is removing fat and excess skin from the thighs; after that, it couldn't be easier. I've used Major Grey's (mango) chutney, but intend to try other flavor(s) sometime. Great with rice and broccoli or any green vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
This recipe was very good. HOwever, I did make some changes based on other reviews. I used a hot mango chutney and reduced sodium soup mix. I also added some fresh ground pepper directly onto the chicken and added red pepper flakes into the chutney/soup mixture. The original recipe called for using chicken thighs so I tried that. I didn't really like the result. The chicken was too fatty. Next time I will try chicken breast and put the chicken in a smaller, more compact pan so that the chutney mixture has a chance to really soak and marinate the chicken as it cooks. This dish works well with a basamati rice curry pilaf and fresh steamed sweet peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2004
Superb chicken dinner. I used boneless chicken breast, Major Grey hot chutney, and the onion soup mix. Next time, I think I will try the mango chutney so many other reviewers wrote about. Regardless, this was the easiest, most delicious dinner we have had in a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
Very simple, very tasty. My picky six-year-old not only liked it, but wanted to know when we would have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
I used a bunch of drumsticks and hot mango chutney. Aside from chicken part, followed the recipe. It was deliciious! The first bite is, "Hmmm, this interesting. Good, but interesting." Each bite tastes better than the last until you find yourself overeating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Sorry, I didn't care for this recipe. The flavor was very odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
This was an amazingly simple dish to prepare and the flavors were so intense! We loved it!! I used a hot mango chutney ... yum! I'll make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
very unique flavor. great way to challenge one's palette. easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
This is so quick and easy. Wonderful flavor and great with rice. I used chicken breasts instead of thighs because I dont like bones and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
OK folks...I tried this recipe based on what everyone else had written....& you all were right! It really was good. I've heard of chutney (somehow thought of it being British), but had never used it before. My variations to the basic recipe: as suggested in other reviews, I left out the salt; but kept in fresh ground pepper. I also added a large dollup (such a precise term!) of orange marmalade; it was super tasty! It prob. did make the sauce a bit less thick, but the subtle orange flavor was worth it. Also used a large casserole dish, &added a mix of baby carrots fresh asparagus, cauliflower & broccoli with butter, & black pepper in a foil "wrap". The veggies cooked along w/the chicken, but you may want to check them as you go. It did take me a bit longer to cook the whole thing than was listed. But it was REAL good. I will def do this one again. Enjoy! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States