Chutney Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
I am making this right now with jasmin rice! 4 stars for sounding delicious. Not exactly pretty when you put it in the oven, but smells scrumptuous. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharleyBrul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
5 stars for ease of preparation, 5 stars for flavor, 5 stars for consistency. I love gooey sweet sauces on meats. I only used six thighs so the sauce was extra thick and never quite got crunchy. I used regular Major Grey chutney as I'm not a fan of heat and ran it through a processor first (chutney can otherwise be too chunky in experience). I also followed other reviewers suggestion about skipping the salt and I'm glad as the doubled sauce was quite salty on its own. I'm going to try this on boneless pork chops next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Poway, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
This was awesome! I used only 5 thighs and 1 skinless/bonelss breast. I removed the skin from one of the thighs. I still skimmed off some of the fat when it was done. I put the smaller portion in a smaller casserole dish and it made a saucier recipe. I served it with Near East Mediterranean Curry Couscous and the combination of the flavors of chutney, onion soup mix and couscous were incredible. My husband brought some to work to share with a co-worker who is always interested in the food my husband brings from home. He loved it too! This is an easy keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This recipe is great! Very little prep time, so it makes it easy to fix. I loved it, and will fix it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
What a simple, tasty dish! It smelled so great during the baking that my family couldn't wait to dig in. It would also make an easy casual company dish. I made a few changes to the original recipe to suit my family. I browned the thighs in a small amount of oil before placing in the baking dish. Then after removing the cooked chicken to a serving dish I skimmed the fat from the sauce left in the baking dish before transferring the sauce to a serving dish to pass at the table. It was wonderful over rice. Thanks for the great recipe Sharon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Such an easy way to impress guests, we've even done it with chicken legs. yUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
This is a tasty chicken dish. What I did though was I prebaked my chicken for 35min before adding the chutney sauce and I drained some of the chiken juice out before adding the sauce, it may cause the flavor to thin out. Also I used two jar of chutney and one dry soup mix. My fiance liked it so I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
Very easy recipe. I was a little shocked how expensive chutney is!!! I couldn't find a 12 oz. jar, so I had to purchase 2 9 oz. jars, an over $10 cost! I used half Major Grey's and half Hot Mango and the flavor was very nice. You can't get any easier than this recipe. I also used boneless, skinless chicken thighs. So easy and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I really wasn't impressed. I've poured BBQ sauce over chicken the same way for years, and it comes out much tastier. Sorry, but we just didn't think it was that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2004
I've made this 3 times now, and we love it! The only thing that takes any time is removing fat and excess skin from the thighs; after that, it couldn't be easier. I've used Major Grey's (mango) chutney, but intend to try other flavor(s) sometime. Great with rice and broccoli or any green vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States