Chutney Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This is Fabulous! If you live in So. Cal. try using Patak's Major Grey Chutney or Spicy Mango Chutney. I also add sliced green onions to give it some extra color. To complete it as a meal try slivering mango & yellow or orange peppers, laid on top of a bunch of sunflower sprouts. (yes that is sunflower sprouts - suppose you could use baby spinich or arugala.) Presents as beautiful as it takes. Everyone always asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Super tasty! I browned the thighs in butter and then put them in the oven for 15 min. I then poured the chutney over them and continued baking. I served it over white rice and even my picky husband went back for seconds. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This recipe was great! My picky husband loved it! I browned the chicken in a skillet and drained it before putting it in the baking dish. I used a hot mango chutney with Lipton Onion soup mix...definitely something I'll make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearney, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
I thought the sweet flavor with the onion was an odd taste. I think I will try to make Chutney Chicken again but without the onion mix. I would try this with more salt so that it would taste sweet and salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
This was very good and a nice change of pace from plain chicken. We won't have this every week, but it will go into rotation at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This was really good! I made a couple changes base on comments from other reviewers. I browned the chicken first which elimated a lot of grease. Then I put the chicken in the oven for 35 minutes. I used aspecialty chutney, Basha Browns Spicy Fruit. When I removed chicken at 35 minutes I took the fat from cooking in the oven and poured into chutney & onion soup mixture then I poured over top of chicken before I placed back in the oven for 20 more minutes. Its a flavor that really does grow on you and makes you want to more. I used this for 4 thighs but could have used 6 or various other parts. I will probably make this easy recipe for company it looks fancy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This Rocks!! The best chicken I've made. Here's what I changed since I did not have any chutney - I made my own. 1 small glass jar raspberry jelly, vinegar, ginger, garlic, cayenne pepper, cinnamon, cloves and dried mustard powder. Gave it a whirr in the food processor and had my own homemade chutney. I agree with the other review, drain the juice about midway thru the cooking, THEN add the chutney and onion mix topping, my juice was a bit greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I thought this chutney recipe was average. I have had much better chutney chicken in the past. The simplicity of the recipe is the best part, however I think some of the people who really liked this recipe have not experieced the joys of chutney before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Good recipe but not a wow. We all liked it but don't know if I'll make again. Maybe I'll expirment with another chutney sauce. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
WOW! This is delicious. Unlike anything I've ever tasted before. We're having guests from Kenya for dinner next week and I was looking for some African recipes. I decided to experiment with this recipe tonight before serving it to guests. I have never liked chicken thighs before. In fact, the only chicken I eat is skinless, boneless breasts. But I decided to give the recipe a chance as written. I removed all of the skin from the thighs and most of the fat using kitchen shears. I found that I think thigh meat is quite good under the right circumstances. I had to go to two grocery stores before I found chutney, and then they only had one kind--Major Grey's Chutney. I had wanted the hot kind. I didn't add any salt but I did pepper the chicken before putting on the sauce. I put cayenne pepper on some of the thighs and ground black pepper on the others. The cayenne pepper was a little too hot for my taste, so maybe I would not have like the hot chutney after all. It was plenty salty enough. I heartily recommend this recipe because it is so easy to prepare and it is so unique tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States