Chutney Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Super easy & yummy! I had some leftover chutney from a turkey burger recipe, so I decided to give this a try...glad I did!! I used 'Spicy Cranberry Apple Chutney' ('The Silver Plate' brand), SO good, perfect w/ the soup mix (oh, and I used the entire packet, but omitted the extra salt). I added a tsp. of red pepper flakes. Also, I used this to bake 6 drumsticks- baked for 40 minutes and it was perfect. **Posted a picture, but it may take a bit for it to appear on the site.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I was skeptical even though the reviews were great. My husband and I LOVED this. I used Mango Chutney and added brown sugar and chayenne(sp) pepper (per another review). I did only use a half a pack of onion soup mix and and added a bit more dried onions. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
OVERATED! The onion soup mix is overpowering! Can't think of another recipe that I immediately didn't like and immediatly registed on allrecipes just to warn the masses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I made this tonight with a couple mods (out of necessity), and we all loved it! Very simple, very easy! I didn't have regular Lipton onion soup on hand, but did have a packet of their onion-mushroom, which worked just fine. I also didn't have hot chutney, but did have a jar of Crosse & Blackwell Major Grey Mango Chutney. Just added a good shake or two of cayenne, and a few drops of habenero sauce, so it did have a good kick! I used boneless/skinless breasts, and didn't salt them, as the soup already has a boatload of sodium in it. Thanks for a wonderfully easy and delicious idea for something to do with that bottle of chutney that was gathering dust in the cuppboard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portage, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
Very interesting. I'd triple the sauce. My husband loved it, I thought it was ok. But I will try again and see how I can improve it. The taste is very strong, which is good, b/c sometimes chicken can be a bit boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessika393

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This wonderful recipe fed 6 people (2 kids included). I found Patak's Major Grey Mango Chutney. It must be an international brand. It was a mild chutney so I added 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes. I also ran the chutney through the food processor to remove the big chunks as well as to stretch the quantity. I didn't salt the chicken thighs just to be sure it wasn't overpowered. Everyone cleaned their plate. Although I'm sure you could use other cuts of chicken the thighs are the perfect texture and turn out very moist. I served over rice with roasted parsnips and carrots and a cucumber salad as sides.Thank you so much for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This was simple and totally delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I have a fussy husband but he LOVED this recipe!!!Great going!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mignonne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This is a very easy, very delicious recipe. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
This is a great recipe! It is fast and easy! The only thing is the Chutney is really expensive being 8 dollars for one small jar! But It was delicious!! I used Mango Chutney, no salt, and had potatoes on the side! Husband LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Exotic Pomegranate Chicken

Pomegranate juice makes a great marinade for baked chicken.

How to Make Chicken Cacciatore

See how to make Chef John’s no-fail "hunter's chicken" recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States