Chutney Baked Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I used Camembert instead of Brie (just a personal preference). It was nice except I didn't really like the mango chutney. It wasn't quite sweet enough to balance the flavours. However the texture of the melted cheese and crunchy cashews was lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
I omitted the nuts from this b/c of a guest with an allergy, but this went over really well in the taste department; however, it didn't clear out as much as my regular baked brie would, so that's reducing my rating a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
WOW!! I got such compliments for this simple recipe I will certainly make it again and again. Not only does it look beautiful - it tastes creamy and savory, sweet and nutty all at once. What a treat! I had to pass on the recipe to all my dinner guests. I used pecans instead of cashews and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Delicious but quick and easy. I have made it 3 times and people ALWAYS want the recipe. I have substituted pistachios for the cashews and it's just as good. I serve it with water crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I cut the coating off the top of the wheel only so that the softened cheese would not leak out the sides. This helped to get the flavor of the mango chutney into the cheese. What a hit for a very cold January day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Such a wonderful and different use of Brie, I loved it! Next time I would use quite a bit more curry, but then again i LOVE curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
It was a fight to see who got the last bite. God help me if I don't make enough next time. It was perfect as is. Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
obviously this is something that you can change alot, and still have it turn out. I used a peach chutney that I had made the previous summer, and walnuts (because I had them). Served with whole wheat crackers it was delicious! The only problem was....the rind of our brie tasted "funny" - as I've never had brie before I don't know if this was normal, or just the kind of brie we had. But certainly not the fault of the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
Excellent way to serve brie. Very easy to make and adds a gourmet touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
This recipe is just so versatile, as long as you have the combination of sweet and salty and a little spicy you can't really go wrong! My husband doesn't care for the flavor of curry powder, so I left it out. We also have a nut allergy in my family so I couldn't use the cashews. I substituted six slices of bacon, fried until crisp and then crumbled. I put the chutney over the cheese and then sprinkled the bacon over that. I served the baked brie with two kinds of crackers and it got RAVE reviews. Even my husband loved it and he had been very dubious about the recipe when I told him what I was making. I have a family member who is deathly allergic to mangoes, so next time I will make this using cranberry chutney so she can have some too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Baked Tortilla Chips

Homemade tortilla chips with cumin and lime juice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States