Chutney Baked Brie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
I made this for our Christmas Eve appetizer spread. It looked beautiful when it came out of the oven. We tasted it and it was terrific, I couldn't wait to sit down and enjoy. By the time we did, it had gotten cold, so I microwaved it for about 24 seconds. DON'T DO THAT!!! The brie curdled and the oil from the cheese seperated into a messy puddle. At that point the texture was shot and it was greasy. It needs to be served and eaten right away, apparently. I'm sad to say, I had to throw it out! But it was a terrific recipe, very tasty and easy to make. It just so happened that I ruined it! Eating it cold would have been a far better option! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Really delicious. I couldn't find mango chutney, so used apricot preserves mixed with a bit of cinnamon. The curry adds something very special to the overall flavor of this dish. One thing: I baked for almost twice as long to insure that the cheese was gooey and bubbly. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
WOW!! I got such compliments for this simple recipe I will certainly make it again and again. Not only does it look beautiful - it tastes creamy and savory, sweet and nutty all at once. What a treat! I had to pass on the recipe to all my dinner guests. I used pecans instead of cashews and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2001
The blend of flavors between the curry powder and the cheese and the chutney were great. An impressive, easy hors d'hoevre. Scaled to a 1 pound brie it still served 10 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I cut the coating off the top of the wheel only so that the softened cheese would not leak out the sides. This helped to get the flavor of the mango chutney into the cheese. What a hit for a very cold January day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
This recipe is just so versatile, as long as you have the combination of sweet and salty and a little spicy you can't really go wrong! My husband doesn't care for the flavor of curry powder, so I left it out. We also have a nut allergy in my family so I couldn't use the cashews. I substituted six slices of bacon, fried until crisp and then crumbled. I put the chutney over the cheese and then sprinkled the bacon over that. I served the baked brie with two kinds of crackers and it got RAVE reviews. Even my husband loved it and he had been very dubious about the recipe when I told him what I was making. I have a family member who is deathly allergic to mangoes, so next time I will make this using cranberry chutney so she can have some too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is a fabulous and super-easy appetizer for guests. I served it with wheat thin crackers and it was very yummy. Even those who don't like curry rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teegee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This appie was an absolute hit last night. In fact, the platter was eaten clean within the first 15 minutes of putting it out!! The recipe was so easy that I was actually a little embarassed telling people how few ingredients are in it!! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This appetizer was great! My one recommendation is to substitute slivered almonds for the cashews. I thought the flavors would meld better together, and it definitely turned out to be a hit. Everyone asked for the recipe! Next time I would like to try it with raspberry chutney, which I think would be equally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
The combination of flavors sounded interesting so I served this as an appetizer to our guests at Thanksgiving. Didn't get as many rave reviews as when I prepare the brie with sun-dried tomatoes, pesto, crumbled bacon and spring onions, but I thought it was very flavorful and is an alternative for those who don't care for tomatoes or pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Brie in Puff Pastry

See how to make a simple but elegant baked cheese appetizer.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States