Churros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These were sooo easy and sooo good! I made one recipe as-is and it was plenty for my family of 4. I just used a plastic ziploc bag and cut the corner. My first batch came out about as thick as my ring finger--I thought they were a little doughy on the inside. So I cut the other side of the corner of the baggie smaller and they were more the size of McDonald's french fries. I thought the smaller ones were better--no doughy middle. That said, my family ate all of them with no complaints!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Just made these. They were so easy. They taste just like you buy in mexico. Thanks. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I tried this recipe twice and both didn't work out, the flour has a good flavor and all, but the inside never cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
not what i expected but it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIBEL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Reminds me of every good Mexican restaurant I have ever been to. Easy to make, easier to eat. Delish!! We made a chocolate dipping sauce, but these really stand alone. Light and airy. makes your tummy smile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
First batch was not the best... but the second batch turned out pretty good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
What a fun and delicious treat for my kids. A little tricky to make, as you really do have to let the batter cool a little before putting in the piping bag. I had to double bag mine in order for the batter to not melt through. I agree with others that it's better to pipe all of them on parchment paper, and then just add them to the oil a few at a time. Piping them directly into the oil did not work for me. I immediately rolled them in the cinnamon sugar mixture to make sure it stuck and they were well coated. My kids were so thrilled. The only problem is that now they expect me to make these on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Pretty good I too used a zip lock bag. Came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nisse05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Awesome recipe! Followed the recipe as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made this recipe twice. My first trial was a bit chewy (although some came out crunchy). My husband (whose sweet tooth can't be trusted) was delighted with the first attempt. My 2nd trial was "better"- I baked them (was feeling too guilty for having churros for the 2nd time in a week). I doubled the ingredients but only added 2 tbs of sugar. The reason for the 4 stars is because the recipe doesn't say how thick they should be (I have no churreria), for the churros to come out more crunchy and less chewy. I will try next time to add less oil as another reviewer noted and see if it helps with crunchiness. I had it with Chocolate a la taza (the thick Spanish chocolate served in all Spain). Mmmm, delicioso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 307) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Mexican Bean Salad

This authentic salad is bright with colors and complex flavors.

Pork Stew in Green Salsa

See how to make an authentic Mexican pork stew in green tomatillo salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States