Churros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
surprisingly perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
First time ever making churros and follow the recipe exactly; they turned out perfectly!!! These were so easy to make, the flavor was so good and the texture was perfect. Some reviewers wrote they are crunchy inside and out, not the case here, mine turned out night and soft in the inside. The shape of mine was a little off, mainly at the lack of nice pastry bag tips, but that didn't matter, they were gone in a few minutes. Doubling the recipe next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Kids say I'm the coolest mom ever!!! These churros were awesome and very easy after a couple "test churros" for the correct size and thickness. BTW they tasted just as good as the rest! Made it just like the recipe minus 1 tbsp of sugar in the dough. This well definitely be made many more times in the years to come. Kids loved making them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
These are easy to make and taste really good! I had no problems with cooking them because I used a thermometer to make sure my oil was the temp stated. I used a 1M star tip and cooked them for about 5 minutes total turning them halfway though. They will turn out delicious if you cook them right!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Island, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Yum! Thank you for sharing. These were a great end to our cinco de mayo meal tonight. We served them with homemade cinnamon ice cream. I added a little vanilla bean paste to the dough. Next time I will try mexican vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
The flavor of these is great. But, they were hard and crunchy from the outside to the center. I wish the directions said about how long they normally cook? They don't brown quickly and are actually quite delicate in the oil and will break easily at first. Regardless, I believe they should have been removed before they are slightly golden. It would have also been helpful to know what pastry tip is best. I didn't expect them to grow almost 50% after they hit the oil so that is important. If piping them out a pastry bag is neccessary. The dough is so thick it will break a ziplock plastic bag. I got 15 about 3" sized churros. We ate a few and tossed the rest, because they were just too hard. Don't know what happened, I followed the recipe exactly and used a thermometer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
These turned out great. I've made them with another recipe from this site and, by far, this one is superior. Just enough sweetness, beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Schwartzman Lyon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
YUMMY! So easy and simple to make! This is the perfect ending for a Cinco de Mayo meal. I used a 13MM star tip and piped a 4-5 inch strip into the hot oil. I fried them four at a time in my "Fry Daddy". They floated to the top as they cooked and browned nicely. The dough was so nice to work with. Once drained on paper towels, I put them in a bowl of sugar and cinnamon with a lid and shook gently. They are absolutely YUMMY! Thank you Delia for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
So good and surprisingly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I made this recipe and it came out delicious! Just like I remembered when my grandfather use to buy them for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States