Churros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These were delicious. It took be about 30 minuets to finish them and I made at least 40 of them. I defiantly recommend this. It just tastes like fried dough with sugar and cinnamon! It's a little piece of heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Great recipe! FYI for those who care, Churros are NOT a Mexican pastry, they're originally from Spain where my descendants are from and i don't get why mexicans claim it as theirs like they do many other foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe EXACTLY and I used a ziploc for a pastry bag, I really dont know what went wrong, maybe it was too thick but I was standing over the frying oil and one of the churro's exploded!! I have an extreme burn on my hand (it has covered almost half of my right hand) with a big blister and a blister on my forhead, when I ran to put my hand under cold water another one of the churros in the pan popped also. Im not sure, It may be a good recipe but I will NEVER EVER make it again. I have to deal with a burned hand for at least a few months until its all well again, but be very very very careful if you want to make this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
yumy! Eat 'em HOT! I piped all of the dough into 6 inch rolls on a paper towel before I placed them in the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This are amazing! I made them for a quince we were hosting at our school and they were great! Nice and crispy, and great tasting! I am 15, so this recipe is pretty simple if I can do it. (: I read other reviews about how they were chewy, so here's my suggestion: make sure they are baked all the way through by using a smaller star-shaped end piece on your pastry bag, and they come out just perfect with the right consistency. I strongly recommend this to everyone! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
These turned out great! Just like the ones you order from the school fundraisers or get at the restaurants. I used a large piping tip #864 in a ziploc bag and they turned out about 1" wide and 4" long. My bag broke a few times. I will need to find a sturdier pastry bag before I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
AH-friggen-MAZING!!!!! Made these last for the first time. Was kind of hesitant because some of the bad reviews, but they were far beyond what I was expecting!! Had some friends over tonight, so we doubled the recipe, and they all went! One of our friends is Mexican, and a tough Mexican food critic, even he couldn't believe how amazing they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I made these for a kids birthday party and both the kids and the adults devoured them. They were so easy to make and tasted very authentic. They were a huge hit. *Note: the dough is too think for a pastry bag, like another reviewer, my pastry bag broke from trying to sqeeze the dough through. I just ended up rolling them out by hand (a little smaller than the size of a cigar) and they came out just fine. I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Awesome! Just don't attempt these without a pipping bag and star tip. I couldn't find my tips so i used a ziplock and it could have been better if i would have done it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Boyertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I decreased the sugar to 1 1/2 Tb and the oil for the dough to 1 Tb. I didn't have a pastry bag so I used a ziplock bag and cut the corner. Let the mixture cool a little or the bag will rip. They were the best churros I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 335) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Elephant Ears

Watch how to make Elephant Ears, a fair food favorite.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States