Churros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I tried this recipe twice and both didn't work out, the flour has a good flavor and all, but the inside never cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
not what i expected but it was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIBEL

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Reminds me of every good Mexican restaurant I have ever been to. Easy to make, easier to eat. Delish!! We made a chocolate dipping sauce, but these really stand alone. Light and airy. makes your tummy smile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
First batch was not the best... but the second batch turned out pretty good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
What a fun and delicious treat for my kids. A little tricky to make, as you really do have to let the batter cool a little before putting in the piping bag. I had to double bag mine in order for the batter to not melt through. I agree with others that it's better to pipe all of them on parchment paper, and then just add them to the oil a few at a time. Piping them directly into the oil did not work for me. I immediately rolled them in the cinnamon sugar mixture to make sure it stuck and they were well coated. My kids were so thrilled. The only problem is that now they expect me to make these on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Pretty good I too used a zip lock bag. Came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nisse05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Awesome recipe! Followed the recipe as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made this recipe twice. My first trial was a bit chewy (although some came out crunchy). My husband (whose sweet tooth can't be trusted) was delighted with the first attempt. My 2nd trial was "better"- I baked them (was feeling too guilty for having churros for the 2nd time in a week). I doubled the ingredients but only added 2 tbs of sugar. The reason for the 4 stars is because the recipe doesn't say how thick they should be (I have no churreria), for the churros to come out more crunchy and less chewy. I will try next time to add less oil as another reviewer noted and see if it helps with crunchiness. I had it with Chocolate a la taza (the thick Spanish chocolate served in all Spain). Mmmm, delicioso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docswife
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Quick and easy to put together. I did add the seeds from one split vanilla bean for a little added touch. My kids loved these. I served them with two dipping sauces, dark chocolate and homemade dulce de leche. Big hit here in the Bebout house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Fantastic!!!!!!!!!! Much easier than donuts, and so tasty! I followed the recommendations on decreasing the sugar and oil, and doubled the recipe. Next time I'll have to make even more. These will disappear way too fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Sweet Corn Cake

See how to make Mexican sweet corn pudding-cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States