Churros Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Oh, big hit. So quick and easy, and very, very tasty. Would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Great recipe...I listened to others and reduced the sugar and oil in the recipe to 1 tablespoon each, and it was absolutely perfect! My grandmother was Spanish and would make churros on the first cold night of the year, it was a family tradition, and these were the exact same flavor! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I followed people's advice about 1 tablespoon sugar and 1 tablespoon oil. The pastry bag will be extremely hot if you shift the dough straight from the pan to the bag so let it cool for a minute or two. I found my bag broke but i just squeezed out a roll of dough each time and floured my hands and rolled it out. it was exactly the same. I found i had to make the churro very thin as the dough wasn't cooking on the inside. I guess i couldn't get the temperature correctly. it was too doughy even on lower heat. when i finally got the right temperature it was still not as fully cooked as i think it should be and i ended up with only 1/3 of the servings correctly. the rest had to be thrown away
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
My Daughter loved the Churros. This ingredients are affordable and this recipe is so easy to make and cook. Good thing my sister-in-law gave my daughter a cake/biscuit decorator and it made it more easier for us to get the traditional Churros look. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bamblebee76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Wow, I just made an account on a foreign-language-site I rarely visit, just to post my opinion on those dumb 1 and 2-star-ratings. But first of all: Great recipe. Did them ad though I failed choux pastry in the past(I guess I didnt knead enough), those were great. Even though my oil was WAY to hot(no thermometer =/ - they got dark brown(yummy- really!) within a minute), they came out great because my mothers dough-syringe has a rather small tip. Though I have to say they got soggy too fast- advice would be appreciated. Or does this happen naturally? I figured mine might have been a little undercooked or something. Once I was done with the batch and chocolate, the latest made were soggy and I hate that feeling in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I followed every step but why did my batter turned out to be runny?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
This was soooo easy and DELICIOUS!!! I followed directions to the T....I had no issues. I used coconut oil for the flour mixture and grapeseed for the frying. I didn't have a pastry bad, but my ziploc worked great. The texture was perfect and the right amount of chewyness in the middle. I don't know why others have made revisions here and there to this recipe, there is no need to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I doubled the batch, thank goodness, because everyone couldn't stop eating them! My nephew went on and on about how awesome they were and kept thanking me for making them. I used my Fry Daddy to cook them...very quick and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I was not very successful at making this recipe. The recipe did not specify about the thickness you should make the churro so I ended up making mine too thick. The outside got extremely burnt before the inside was cooked. So i suggest making them on the thinner side so the inside cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
The taste was awesome. The only that i didnt like was that most of them are still raw on the inside. I think my oil was to high. Next time I make these, I will cook them on a lower heat. I used a ziplock bag but the dough was really hot so I put on a oven mit and used that hand to squeeze! lol They came out really good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerwise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butternut, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Churros

See how to make a simple Mexican pastry.

Corn Tortillas

See how to make authentic corn tortillas from scratch.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States