Church-Window Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I love these cookies! So easy to make and they bring back many memories of my grandma making these for me aroung christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleaha Talaski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Austin, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I love making these cookies for Christmas but I found you HAVE to use MARGARINE instead of real butter. When I used real butter, I didn't get a creamy texture and the marshmallows were really hard to coat. I still haven't found an easy way to apply the coconut evenly but they're still fun to make and even better to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobinC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I love these! My Mom has made this recipe every Christmas, and now I do too. They look pretty on a tray of assorted cookies. Something I do to make it easier to shape them into logs is to use empty aluminum foil boxes - the bigger size. I line the boxes with plastic wrap, sprinkle coconut on the wrap, then add the chocolate mixture. Sprinkle with additional coconut, close up the wrap and the box, put them in the fridge to cool, and you're ready to slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is an old recipe my mom used to make in the 70's. I melted the chocolate and butter carefully in the microwave (watched it closely) without any problems. I also recommend letting the chocolate cool a little before mixing the marshmallows in (maybe 5 minutes). I also added about 1/4 cup coconut into the mixture. The recommendation from a previous rating to put them into wax-paper lined empty foil boxes (or cling wrap boxes, etc) worked great. Also, I used semi-sweet chips and they were fine. And I omitted the nuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENWHITT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
My mother use to make these at Christmas when I was younger. She passed away last Christmas so guess what I'm going to make this Christmas in her honour. Thanks a million for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
We love these!! I use powdered sugar instead of coconut though. I just spread a little bit out on wax paper, wrap it tightly into a roll (well multiple rolls) freeze for 10 minutes, and rewrap with a little more sugar and finish freezing. I also don't use nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KattCooks
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I love these! I have made them for years, I originally had them at my ex-mother-in-law's way back in the 70's. Yesterday I made them with Jet-Puffed Fruit Mallows. I think they turned out great and love the banana flavor in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KattCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugatuck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My mom used to make something very similar to these every year for Christmas...minus the coconut and with a cookie crust in a 9 X 13 pan. They were always a favorite of mine they are pretty and so yummy...I might have to bring back the tradition and add the coconut to change it up a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I've made these for over 35 years. They are always a big hit. You can also make these with semi-sweet Chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Yummy, enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States