Church-Window Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I love making these cookies for Christmas but I found you HAVE to use MARGARINE instead of real butter. When I used real butter, I didn't get a creamy texture and the marshmallows were really hard to coat. I still haven't found an easy way to apply the coconut evenly but they're still fun to make and even better to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobinC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I love these! My Mom has made this recipe every Christmas, and now I do too. They look pretty on a tray of assorted cookies. Something I do to make it easier to shape them into logs is to use empty aluminum foil boxes - the bigger size. I line the boxes with plastic wrap, sprinkle coconut on the wrap, then add the chocolate mixture. Sprinkle with additional coconut, close up the wrap and the box, put them in the fridge to cool, and you're ready to slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These were so simple to fix and tasted pretty good too. They are very very sweet though. I used unsalted butter and regular milk chocolate chips. The chocolate took a long time to melt over low heat (about 18 minutes) but it also did not melt the marshmallows as I was afraid it would. I don't have a double boiler I just used the lowest heat setting and stirred it often. I left out the nuts due to possible allergies as these were for gift trays. I rolled the logs up in waxed paper and froze them overnight. They sliced easily the following morning straight from the freezer. Thanks for the great recipe. This was the first time I've ever made these and they were so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is an old recipe my mom used to make in the 70's. I melted the chocolate and butter carefully in the microwave (watched it closely) without any problems. I also recommend letting the chocolate cool a little before mixing the marshmallows in (maybe 5 minutes). I also added about 1/4 cup coconut into the mixture. The recommendation from a previous rating to put them into wax-paper lined empty foil boxes (or cling wrap boxes, etc) worked great. Also, I used semi-sweet chips and they were fine. And I omitted the nuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENWHITT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I love these cookies! So easy to make and they bring back many memories of my grandma making these for me aroung christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Austin, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Yummy, enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I tried this and I think the recipe needs to be a little more specific regarding what you do after you remove from heat. After following the directions, I read other recipes on this site for the same thing and it says to let cool. Then it goes on to say add marshmallows etc. So the marshmallows melted into the hot chocolate and the windows didn't look quite as they should. It also changed the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KattCooks
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I love these! I have made them for years, I originally had them at my ex-mother-in-law's way back in the 70's. Yesterday I made them with Jet-Puffed Fruit Mallows. I think they turned out great and love the banana flavor in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KattCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saugatuck, Michigan, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I was so excited when I found this recipe... then I made it. Gloppy! No where on the recipe does it say to wait to put the marshmallows in. For this fairly inexperienced baker - very diappointing - People have to write recipes with even the obvious spelled out. The only upside was that it still tasted good :) . I will not be putting this batch in the cookie bags for my family this year. I will try it again next year, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
We love these!! I use powdered sugar instead of coconut though. I just spread a little bit out on wax paper, wrap it tightly into a roll (well multiple rolls) freeze for 10 minutes, and rewrap with a little more sugar and finish freezing. I also don't use nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States