Church-Window Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
We love these!! I use powdered sugar instead of coconut though. I just spread a little bit out on wax paper, wrap it tightly into a roll (well multiple rolls) freeze for 10 minutes, and rewrap with a little more sugar and finish freezing. I also don't use nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
My mother use to make these at Christmas when I was younger. She passed away last Christmas so guess what I'm going to make this Christmas in her honour. Thanks a million for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is an old recipe my mom used to make in the 70's. I melted the chocolate and butter carefully in the microwave (watched it closely) without any problems. I also recommend letting the chocolate cool a little before mixing the marshmallows in (maybe 5 minutes). I also added about 1/4 cup coconut into the mixture. The recommendation from a previous rating to put them into wax-paper lined empty foil boxes (or cling wrap boxes, etc) worked great. Also, I used semi-sweet chips and they were fine. And I omitted the nuts. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENWHITT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
So fun to make! I first learned how to make these in Bible School. Now, I'm teaching my kids. I use semi-sweet or dark chocolate chips. You don't have to do that, it's just a preferance of mine. Wicked sweet but the submitter is absolutely spot on. These are always the first treats to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
These were so simple to fix and tasted pretty good too. They are very very sweet though. I used unsalted butter and regular milk chocolate chips. The chocolate took a long time to melt over low heat (about 18 minutes) but it also did not melt the marshmallows as I was afraid it would. I don't have a double boiler I just used the lowest heat setting and stirred it often. I left out the nuts due to possible allergies as these were for gift trays. I rolled the logs up in waxed paper and froze them overnight. They sliced easily the following morning straight from the freezer. Thanks for the great recipe. This was the first time I've ever made these and they were so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I love these! My Mom has made this recipe every Christmas, and now I do too. They look pretty on a tray of assorted cookies. Something I do to make it easier to shape them into logs is to use empty aluminum foil boxes - the bigger size. I line the boxes with plastic wrap, sprinkle coconut on the wrap, then add the chocolate mixture. Sprinkle with additional coconut, close up the wrap and the box, put them in the fridge to cool, and you're ready to slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Good! They aren't cookies though--they're candy. I had a hard time with my marshmallows melting and smearing so maybe next time I'll let my chocolate cool down a bit before folding in the mallows. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I love making these cookies for Christmas but I found you HAVE to use MARGARINE instead of real butter. When I used real butter, I didn't get a creamy texture and the marshmallows were really hard to coat. I still haven't found an easy way to apply the coconut evenly but they're still fun to make and even better to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobinC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
I love these cookies! So easy to make and they bring back many memories of my grandma making these for me aroung christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aleaha Talaski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Austin, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States