Chunky Vegetarian Vegetable Soup (Fast and Easy) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Our family loved this soup. My husband especially raved about it. Like most, I didn't have every ingredient but was able to substitute other ingredients easily. My only critical feedback would be that it took MUCH longer than ~15 minutes to cook the carrots & potatoes, but perhaps I used larger slices/chunks. We will make this recipe for many meals to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Very easy and very good. I basically followed the recipe but used 1 can of Swanson vegetarian vegetable broth + 2 Telma vegetable seasoning cubes and filled the empty broth can with water and added that. I used the fresh onions, carrots, garlic and potatoes as directed as well as the tomato sauce but used 1 bag of Kroger's frozen mixed vegetables for soup. This mix has limas, green beans and okra - among other things. I then added two large handfuls of frozen chopped kale. I did not add any salt as the Telma cubes provided plenty. I served it with hot whole grain bread. It made enough for my husband and me to have generous bowls with 1 1/2 qts left over. A wonderfully comforting supper on this freezing cold night with snow flurries outside the windows. I will be making this often. Thanks very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Excellent. We love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This soup is good!! I subsituted the carrots for pumpkin and used frozen mixed vegetables that included both the carrots and corn. Did not used the okra or edamame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This is fantastic! I get a big thumbs up from my son as well. I didn't have edamame or kale but I added green beans. It's very easy to customize it to your preferences. I didn't have to add any salt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This was excellent. The kale-okra-celery combination is what drew me to this recipe. Don't substitute the okra if at all possible! I made almost no changes -- I just added some baby lima beans (personal taste), and to give it an extra zing I threw in some Crystal hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is a regular on my meal "schedule"... because it's clean and tastes great. I substituted the baked potato for sweet potato, to make it a wee bit more nutritious. And the kale for spinach (just didn't have kale on hand). I love that it is sweet from the corn. Yum-my.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Vander
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Love it! I am on a very restricted diet, so couldn't use the corn and potato, but added zuccini, cabbage and baby spinach. Also, used lots of herbs to spice it up. It changes every time I make it, but it's always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very tasty. You'd think there are spices in it, but there aren't. And so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Everyone in my family loved it and we have very different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States