Chunky Vegetarian Vegetable Soup (Fast and Easy) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Used what I had on hand. Fresh celery, onions, garlic, carrots, a couple of tablespoons of commercial sofrito sauce, smoked paprika, bay, salt and pepper to taste. 2 cups vegetable stock and two cups water, 2 cups of tomato sauce,frozen okra, frozen kale, canned corn and a can of canellini beans (to replace the potatoes). It was hearty and filling and pretty tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is a great soup. I played with the vegetables and didn't use any potatoes. I roasted two green peppers, which gave the soup a smoky flavor. I also added fresh thyme and basil. This is a very good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Ohio, USA
Living In: Urbana, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
This gets 5 stars for its health value and how quick and easy it is to make. 4 or 4.5 stars for taste - it's very yummy but not orgasmically delicious. Still one of the best vegetables soups I've ever made. I did what most of the other reviewers did - I improvised on ingredients to suit what I had on hand: chick peas instead of edamame, mushrooms instead of okra, lots of kale (is the 2 leaves a misprint?), about 3 or 4 cups chopped, copious amount of fresh herbs - basil, oregano, thyme and parsley, about a cup or more chopped and compressed, 1 tsp of Aleppo pepper (Next time I'll heap it a bit), grated cheese (I used sharp cheddar) sprinkled in each bowl when served. I read that herbs are full of phytonutrients that are particularly beneficial to us. And it's a win-win - using large amounts of fresh herbs is delicious. I also used purple potatoes for the same reason. If you haven't tried Aleppo pepper yet I highly recommend you do. I use it in place of red pepper flakes in everything now. It has a richer, sweeter, and milder taste. The soup was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
I have an MSG sensitivity so I can't eat the canned veggie soup and so I searched around and found this. I use a broth that does not contain MSG. I use Creole Seasoning to spice it up and keep the sodium content down. It is fantastic! In the winter I used a bag of frozen veggies and now I'll be using fresh vegetables from my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
this soup is low calorie and tasty. It is bland so I added chopped fresh serano chili peppers when cooking the onions and it was super.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I love this soup. I added sliced baby bell mushrooms, extra kale and also substituted the edamame and okra with peas and green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I will use this recipe again. It's so easy to change (based on what you have on hand) and still make a tasty soup. You can use any combination of vegetables. I used carrots, celery, onions, potatoes, mushrooms, peppers and spinach. I added oregano, basil, rosemary, salt, white pepper and worcestershire sauce. Instead of tomato sauce, I used tomato paste and two cans of crushed tomatoes. Thanks for the inspiration.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ntreez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Everyone in my family loved it and we have very different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very tasty. You'd think there are spices in it, but there aren't. And so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Love it! I am on a very restricted diet, so couldn't use the corn and potato, but added zuccini, cabbage and baby spinach. Also, used lots of herbs to spice it up. It changes every time I make it, but it's always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States