Chunky Tomato Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
this was really good, it was intersting though! i was expecting it to be like canned tomato soup with just some potatoes added into it, but it was definitely more of a vegetable soup! i really liked it though, and even my husband who always says "i'm not much of a soup guy" really liked it and said it filled him up! i followed it exactly, omitting the carrots and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffinyRae
Home Town: Navarre, Florida, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is a good hearty soup, but I agree with another reviewer - it needs to simmer for at least 1 hour so the vegies can cook and for the flavours to blend together. I think it would be even better if served the next day. When I make it again, I'll make if for the next evening's meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
So good! I loved that this was so easy and so hearty! Definitely warmed us up on a cold fall evening..and when I told my mom I made a soup from scratch later that night..she was impressed that I came home from work and still had time to make a homemade soup in time for dinner..definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
this recipe was delicious and easy to make. i added some cream instead of milk to add a bit more thickness and dilluted the broth a bit for less sodium. i had to simmer the soup a bit longer for the potatoes. the seasoning was nearly perfect, i might add a touch more next time. but overall, this is a very good recipe for cooking beginners or advanced cooks who want to experiment! my family is extremely picky and they couldnt get enough of it! will definitly be making again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Not great: I followed the instructions exactly and left out only the corn starch, which wouldn't have impacted the flavour anyway, which was blandish. Too much celery flavour, not enough spice. Edible, but won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StyleGal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was a simple, tasty vegetable soup that I will make again. A good base for adding any veggies you choose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Very yummy soup! My only edit would be to cook it longer as the carrots and potatos needed more time to simmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILPEKOE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Per a previous reviewer I added more diced tomatoes and for the chicken broth, I had some homemade turkey broth that I used. Great taste and a fabulous rich soup. I couldn't wait for the cooler fall weather to make it and I'm glad I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
I wasn't crazy about it. I think it needs more spices added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Very delicious soup! I made it in the crock pot and added the milk shortly before serving. I also halved the recipe. I did not use cornstarch and my potatoes were left over seasoned roasted greek potatoes cut up. Sprinkled pepper & parmesean cheese on top. (Did not add salt as I used canned tomatoes which I find salty to begin with)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States