Chunky Tomato Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This has the potential to be a delicious vegetable stew! Great basic idea but the recipe needs tweaking. My vegetables were (adult) bite-size and nowhere near done after 20 minutes of simmering...give it at least an hour. I added 2c veg broth and still needed to add more water after simmering so long. The seasonings, in my opinion, need changing up, too. It's not bland but just not homemade yummy (waaay better than canned if that's all you're used to though). I'll definitely make this again but with enough changes to not really be this recipe anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This is very good as is but there are lots of goodies you could add. I like it because it has to be a healthy soup without meat and all those good veggies. I do think it would be good with smoked sausage. I made this in the crock-pot, cooked it all day on low. When I got home from work I added the mixed milk and cornstarch. Then turned in on warm till we were ready to eat. Would be great with a gormet grilled cheese sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Pretty good hearty soup and a great way to use up whatever veggies are lying around. Added sliced fennel with the onion and didn't really measure the vegetables. Left alone, taste is probably just alright. Replaced the chicken broth with shrimp stock. Added some hot sauce, cayenne, beau monde, celery seed, fennel seed, and a couple bay leaves after the first 25 minutes of simmering and adjusted to taste every 20 minutes or so. Probably a bit thick (more of a stew now) but very good taste and Italian sausage would be a good addition for meat eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as it was written but added fresh chicken breast cut into bite size pieces and fresh spices instead of dried. Cooked in a slow cooker. The kitchen smelled wonderful. Put it in the fridge over night, heated the next night, and it was too bland. One of the worst recipes I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
VERY goood!!!! 2 things I added, a couple of chicken boullion cubes, and way more "simmer" time, about 2 hours. I think ALL soups benefit from a long, low cooking time. I will definitely be making this many more times, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Very good! I used 1/2&1/2 instead of milk to make it richer. I didn't need the cornstarch as it was already thick. Added extra garlic and italian seasoning to boost the flavor a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
Followed the recipe and it was really good. I was surprised at the cornstarch ( only 1tablespoon) but it gave it that made with cream silky texture that the potatoes alone can't give it. With summer around the corner, I can imagine this with some fresh zucchini, fresh basil, maybe even eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
It was ok, I found it was good the first day but the second day it was not as good. Usually soup gets better as it sits in the frig. Made the recipe as written. If I make it again I will tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I made this soup today . and my husband and I just loved it . This will be on top off my soup recipes,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Just couldn't get into it. My husband, nor I, really liked it that much. We added shredded cheddar & that helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States