Chunky Tomato Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
: ) Cheated and used purchased diced celery/onions, shredded carrots and used the mini chopper for the potatoes so it wasn't so "chunky" due to health issues here. Little bit more chicken broth, couple more cloves of garlic and whisked the cornstarch with the milk prior to adding as scared of lumps. Also used a bit more tomato paste as I had no need for it and didn't want to freeze the leftovers. Thus practically no need for much added salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Nice tomato flavor. I added a lot more veg to make it a nice low points WW meal. I added a tsp of hot pepper flakes just for personal preference. Will make again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Excellent recipe! I didn't have any regular potatoes on hand so substituted with sweet potatoes. Yum! Super easy and full of flavour. Hubby who is not a big soup fan went back for seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Really tasty and simple to make. I used a 28oz can of tomatoes and after cooking the onions, poatoes,carrots, spice and milk I added the remaining ingredients to the crockpot to simmer all day. Next time I will add the amount of tomatoes called for to have a creamier soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is really delicious! I made it exactly as written, and I wouldn't change it. Give this one a try, I'm sure you will love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elena Abel
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is my favourite winter time soup. I cut my pieces of potato pretty small, so that may account for the difference in cooking time. I find this is best made with a 2% milk or higher, but that's just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena Abel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Good, but not outstanding for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This soup is lovely. I made a few important changes, however. I doubled the quantity of tomatoes, eliminated the cornstarch (didn't make any difference, so why add it), and most critical, simmered the soup for two hours instead of 20 minutes. My whole family loves the soup, even my 8 year-old son who, on principle, hates all fruits and vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Meyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I have made this soup 4 times and love it! It is a mellow, creamy comfort soup and is not meant to be super spicy. Make sure that you use enough onion and garlic. The first 2 times I did not have a premixed Italian seasoning so I used a combination of dried basil, oregano and rosemary. I think the flavor of this soup develops as it stands so I suggest making it a little ahead of time and letting it "sit" for at least 30 minutes before serving. As you would imagine the leftovers are wonderful. Great with grilled cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Way too much italian seasoning. I had to add a lot of chicken stock just to counter act the seasoning. We didn't like this much. The photos really make it look appealing but not so much in person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States