Chunky Tomato Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
This was a pretty good soup. Easy to make. I brought the milk to a near boil very slowly, but it still broke. Once the rest of the ingredients were added you couldn't really tell. I had to use about 3 Tbsp. cornstarch to thicken the soup. Also I only used about 1 tbsp. butter initially. Will make again, but not a 5 star recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neppers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I liked this....I was out of a few of the ingredients, but even then, it was a terrific stew. I added 2 teaspoons of sugar to give it a more "Brunswicky" taste...LOL. I am not a fan of tomato sauces, but with the addition of sugar it made it a very tastey dish for me! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gloucester, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Pretty darn good. I'd make it again. I just used one onion, fresh celery and added a bag of frozen peas, corn, carrot & green bean mixture). 1 can of crushed tomatoes plus one small can of tomato sauce. Plus I used the whole carton of chicken stock because 2 cups wasn’t near enough liquid to cover the ingredients. I also had to simmer it for about 40 min until the taters to soften up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILMARANDA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
This is so good! So fresh tasting. I did have to cook mine longer. I used less potato. I didn't have tomato paste so I used 1 sm can of tomato sauce. I wasn't sure what kind of tomatoes to use so I used a can of diced petite tomatoes. Before serving sprinkled with parmesan & Italian Herb Seasoning from a grinder. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
YUMMY!!!!! I made this soup last night in the crock pot. It was YUMMO...LOL..i made a few changes though. I used 4 Tbsp of butter (Big Fan of Ms. Dean) 5 large potatos, 4 stalks of celery(diced) 1 cup of baby carrots, 2 whole tomatoes cubed, 2 whole onions diced, dash of rosemary, 2 Tbsp of italian seasoning, 2 cups of milk, 2 cups of chicken broth, ( almost the same) half a can of red beans w/o the liquid) and i added a whole keilbasa. i had no cornstarch so i put a little bit of flour ...i was cookin it on the stovetop but it was taking too long and i had to go somehwere so i put it in the crockpot for about 4 hrs on low (long enough to cook the potatoes...) when it was done i served it with croissant sandwiches...so hearty and when my hubby asked me what it was called i said HEARTY MAN SOUP...he loved it. so fibrous and healthy....... when done add salt and pepper to taste to your liking....will make again.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
This was really good. I added a pound of shrimp and another whole can of diced tomatoes (didn't think it had enough tomato taste) and I accidently added the whole 8 oz can of tomato paste. My family like, even my picky eater. With my changes, it ended making about 12 servings and 2 cups is still only about 280 calories; an awesome diet staple! Will definetly make again and play around with it, maybe with some smoked sausage or chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Spring Grove, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Very yummy! I made this for my teammates in China and they asked me to make it again. I had no cornstarch, but it didn't make a difference. Very tasty and great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zorphth44
Living In: Russellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I'm not sure what I was expecting, but I wasn't overly impressed with this. It was like a vegetable stew, in need of sliced kielbasa or pasta or something. It also confirmed what I have been suspecting for a while: that I personally prefer creamy smooth soups. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Would make again. Could be creamier. Also consider adding dill and/or garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Loved this soup, it's a definite keeper! Even my husband, who doesn't like tomatoes, likes it! Pureed tomatoes before adding to mixture to make it less chunky, didn't have any celery to put in it. For a kick, added 1 Tbsp chili powder. Great tasting healthy meal with salad and French Bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States