Chunky Tomato Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
A good recipe, but it wasn't a 5-star. Good flavor, consistency. It will take longer than 20 minutes of simmering to soften the potatoes and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is a great recipe though I did make a few changes. Instead of butter I used olive oil to saute the onions and garlic. I used 1 1/2 onions instead of two. I used two 14oz cans of diced tomatoes (pureed). I shredded a pre-cooked whole chicken. Instead of italian seasoning I used only basil. This was so creamy and I never needed to add the corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
pretty good. I put it in the crock pot. Used tomato sauce because I didn't have paste. Also cut up 3 bacon slices and added it for a smokey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I'm always looking for recipes I can adapt to the crockpot and make dairy-free for my dairy-allergic family. This one did beautifully! Didn't even bother sauteing the onions, etc., just threw everything (including vegan margarine and soy milk) into the crockpot and let it simmer on low setting for the entire day. Turned it to high, stirred in the cornstarch with a little extra cold milk and let it sit for another half hour. Very tasty the first day and even better the second - thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I gave this soup 3 stars, my husband gave it four. I'll defer to his rating since I'm always impressed when he likes something vegetable-based and am willing to give bonus points for that. But I thought it was just average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
Very tasty! I did follow the first reviewer's suggestion & added a pack of diced smoky links. Yum! I also went ahead & put in the whole 6 oz of tomato paste, rather than 2 T. It worked great. It calls for salt & pepper to taste. I ended up adding about a 1 1/2 t. of salt & 3/4 t. of white pepper. This is a really good recipe. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
My chef husband said that it was delicious! I added a sqeeze of lime and some hot sause to give it a little kick. Used fresh seasonings. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westernville, New York, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
WOW!! We added turkey kielbasa, fresh spinach and lots of extra garlic and this turned out fantastic!!! We used a whole carton of chicken broth and 4 small fresh tomatoes to enhance the flavor as well. This dish requires some time if you choose to use fresh ingredients but is well worth it. Will add to our favorites list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOOBALOU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
This recipe is really surprising -even after all the reviews, I didn't think it'd be that good. It was though, really good. After sauteing the onions, spices and garlic, I "deglazed" the pan with a bit of white wine, waited til it had evaporated and then added the others according to the recipe. I used primarily fresh herbs, making up my own Italian seasoning, and finished the soup with a touch of sherry and more fresh herbs. Presented with fresh rosemary and shredded parmesan, and served with garlic herbed scones. Healthy, sophisicated, delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Super-excellent soup. I used tomato paste and fesh tomatoes instead of the canned tomatoes. I would add a few cups of water as well when it gets too thick-especially when re-heating. Quite a bit of chopping time but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States