Chunky Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This is a wonderful soup! I made it while snowed in during a blizzard - perfect warm comfort food! The few changes I made were: Chicken boulion cubes to make broth, I did not have celery on hand so I used celery seed, dried parsley instead of fresh and omitted the swiss cheese and used lots of fresh cracked pepper. The color and texture were wonderful! The color from the chicken boulion cubes made the color great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I used vegetable broth to keep it "kosher" and opted for sharp cheddar instead of swiss cheese. Very simple and easy to make. Tried 1/2 percent milk and was still creamy. We had no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Great flavor, texture and thickness. A cheater shortcut: use frozen hashbrowns instead of potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Fabulous! I doubled the recipe so we could have it all week. I didn't have swiss but I did have sharp and med cheddar cheese. I added a few more of the veggies. This was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Great recipe, a couple of tweaks: Added 1 tsp. of mushroom bouillion when prepping the base, and 4-5 chopped 'shrooms with the veggies, and about 6 strips of crumbled bacon at the end. Like another reviewer, didn't have any Swiss around, so subbed a med-sharp cheddar, worked fine. Do want to try it with Swiss, tho. Really easy to prep, good and thick and hearty, nice flavors. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Very good. I will be making this again. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This is a very good and easy potato soup recipe. I did not have any Swiss cheese on hand so I substituted sharp cheddar and it was still very good. I am looking forward to trying it with the Swiss. My 4 year old daughter and husband loved this soup also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This soup is delicious! My 6 year old daughter commented that "this was the best dinner EVER" (and thats not easy to get out of her!) I did add 1 clove of pressed garlic to the milk mixture while it was thickening. Gave it a nice depth of flavor!!! YUMMY! Will be making this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NickiMomOf2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Simple & yummy - this is a keeper. My husband loves soups and now this is his favorite. I did stir in 1/2 clove of garlic as mentioned by earlier reviewer, it gave that cannot-wait-to-eat-this aroma. Will put in sweet corn next time (I didn't have any at the time). Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATATWORK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I used cream cheese instead of swiss and it was very good! Also added more carrot/celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States