Chunky Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Easy and delicious. I like to cube up a big ham steak and add it after the roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nellyshay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Wonderful! This was my attempt at making potato soup without bacon since becoming a pescatarian and I was a bit worried about not having enough flavor. Not a problem. I used veg broth, sharp cheddar and added quinoa and lentils to boost protein (1/4 c each). Once the potatoes were soft, I hand mashed some of them. Next time I will increase the carrots, quinoa and lentils. Had 3 bowls for dinner and look forward to more for lunch :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Really good. I didn´t have onions but it didn´t matter. I added mushrooms and I used Queso Manchego instead of swiss cheese, but just a slice. Came out great! Not sure on the portions. I made it for my husband and I and there is a little left over, but we ate it as a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Awesome! It just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Novi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bullhead City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I had lots of potatoes and was looking for a soup recipe. This was absolutely wonderful! I made lots of minor changes and was afraid it wouldn't be as good as the reviews but it was. I used vanilla Silk instead of milk because that was all I had. I also added chicken bouillon with a little butter to water because I didn't have enough chicken broth. Even though I was short of some critical ingredients, you can see I was determined to make soup. Glad I did. Will definitely make it again. Maybe next time I'll follow the recipe more closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Made a few additions...added bi celery added cauliflower and peas...to milk added nutmeg fresh cilantro ...and added chopped up surimi at end
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
My husband exclaimed this to be THE best potato soup I've ever made. I did very little to change the original, tho I admit I don't measure very closely. I think I did put in more veggies than called for. I used fat free half and half for a lot of the milk because I needed to use it. I was surprised that the swiss cheese was not a dominant flavor...this will be our permenant potato soup recipe in our house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
My husband and I really liked this soup. I did not have celery, so we left that out. I also did not measure the salt, pepper, or parsley but just added it to taste. I had trouble getting the milk mixture to thicken, but once I added it to the potatoes it got thick right away. I used medium cheddar cheese because we did not have swiss. I would say sharp cheddar would also be good. You could add bacon and make it a baked potato soup as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Super Yummy! All 4 of my kids and my husband loved this. Did make a few changes though-I doubled the recipe and used about 1/2tsp celery salt instead of celery, used chedder cheese sauce in place of the chicken broth, and threw in some chicken cubes to add in the chicken flavor called for, and did not use flour since the cheese sauce thickens and skipped the shredded cheese. Loved this and will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States