Chunky Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
One night I forgot to thaw out dinner and ran across this gem. I don't buy chicken broth so I added 3 cups of water and simmered it longer. I also used half and half and the end of any cheeses I had which were havarti, cheddar and mozzarella. Excellent basic recipe with room to substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! It was exactly what I was looking for. The only changes that I made were: I wanted more vegetables, so I chopped up five long carrots, five celery stalks, and four large potatoes. Because of this I doubled the amount of chicken stock to three cups. I used the same amount of the butter/flour/milk concoction and the soup still turned out great. I used mild chedder cheese instead of swiss because I didn't have any swiss. Next time I plan on adding even more vegetables, mainly corn, green beans, caulifour, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The best potato soup I ever had. Simple but great. I didn't use cheese. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Delicious! I used a little more potato and a sprinkle of celery seed instead of celery (husband hates it). I also used 2% milk and fat free half and half instead of all milk. Go with a 50/50 there or the half and half makes it too thick (per the teenager). Dried parsley and cheddar is what I had on hand. Truly delicious. Definitely serve a bread. I used popovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe. I did one cup of onion, one cup of celery, three large voices of garlic - sauteed prior to adding taters and veg broth. I also did two tablespoons of whole wheat flour in a tablespoon of butter. I added three tablespoons of fresh choppeddill and a few generous shakes of paprika and vegeta. A spoonful of sour cream in the bowl finished it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This was one of the best soups I have ever made! I did make some changes. I added 2 pieces of American cheese, seasoned with onion powder, nutmeg, celery salt, fresh chives, and garlic (3 cloves) and used half-and-half and skim milk. I made two batches of the cream and cheese mixture to make the soup extra thick. I also used baby redskins (yellow flesh) and russet potatoes. Excellent, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Licavoli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Just made this for my husband who is sick with a bug. It was awesome! Ran out of milk, so i substituted last half cup with heavy cream. Also used cheddar cheese instead bc I did not have swiss. Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Wonderful soup! I love it! The only thing i do different is use cheddar instead of swiss and i cook bacon for my boyfriend and put it on top of his. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
So so good. I love potato soup. This reminded me of the kind at Outback Steakhouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I have made it twice now and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States