Chunky Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
One night I forgot to thaw out dinner and ran across this gem. I don't buy chicken broth so I added 3 cups of water and simmered it longer. I also used half and half and the end of any cheeses I had which were havarti, cheddar and mozzarella. Excellent basic recipe with room to substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! It was exactly what I was looking for. The only changes that I made were: I wanted more vegetables, so I chopped up five long carrots, five celery stalks, and four large potatoes. Because of this I doubled the amount of chicken stock to three cups. I used the same amount of the butter/flour/milk concoction and the soup still turned out great. I used mild chedder cheese instead of swiss because I didn't have any swiss. Next time I plan on adding even more vegetables, mainly corn, green beans, caulifour, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
The best potato soup I ever had. Simple but great. I didn't use cheese. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Delicious! I used a little more potato and a sprinkle of celery seed instead of celery (husband hates it). I also used 2% milk and fat free half and half instead of all milk. Go with a 50/50 there or the half and half makes it too thick (per the teenager). Dried parsley and cheddar is what I had on hand. Truly delicious. Definitely serve a bread. I used popovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe. I did one cup of onion, one cup of celery, three large voices of garlic - sauteed prior to adding taters and veg broth. I also did two tablespoons of whole wheat flour in a tablespoon of butter. I added three tablespoons of fresh choppeddill and a few generous shakes of paprika and vegeta. A spoonful of sour cream in the bowl finished it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This was one of the best soups I have ever made! I did make some changes. I added 2 pieces of American cheese, seasoned with onion powder, nutmeg, celery salt, fresh chives, and garlic (3 cloves) and used half-and-half and skim milk. I made two batches of the cream and cheese mixture to make the soup extra thick. I also used baby redskins (yellow flesh) and russet potatoes. Excellent, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Licavoli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Just made this for my husband who is sick with a bug. It was awesome! Ran out of milk, so i substituted last half cup with heavy cream. Also used cheddar cheese instead bc I did not have swiss. Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanalZoneGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Wonderful soup! I love it! The only thing i do different is use cheddar instead of swiss and i cook bacon for my boyfriend and put it on top of his. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
So so good. I love potato soup. This reminded me of the kind at Outback Steakhouse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I have made it twice now and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States