Chunky Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Great recipe! I substituted vegetable broth for the chicken broth because that's what I had on hand, but it would make it a great vegetarian recipe that way. I omitted parsley and celery - just a personal preference. I added another carrot and used 2 cups of half and half and 1/2 a cup of milk. I didn't stir in the cheese, but garnished with cheese and bacon bits. Served with cornbread. So yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
this was a really quick and easy one... it tasted fantastic... the only thing that would have made it better would to have added some bacon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
this was the right taste I was looking for.I used chicken boullion,and instead of mashing potatoes I use potato flakes to thicken and give potato flavor leaving the chucky that I wanted to have. Very good thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
I only made 1/2 batch to try, this was SO tasty! I did add a little more butter, flour and by accident, melted the butter till it started turning brown, but still used it and it made it kinda a nutty flavor, which was good. YUM! Will make again, in a larger batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and loved it until I added the cheese. It's really unnecessary and gives it a weird smell that turned my children off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This recipe turned out wonderful. It was the potato soup I remember from my childhood. I added a cup extra chicken broth and an extra carrot and a teaspoon pepper for a bit of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Excellent soup, just what the doctor ordered when my wife was feeling under the weather! Followed the recipe except no celery on hand so used a good amount of celery salt, added dried basil and chives for flavor along with diced ham. Nice creamy texture! As a few reviews suggested using cheddar and not having swiss, I used Co-Jack which worked very well. Ham used was sandwich ham, this will be great for leftover Easter or Christmas ham! Might add bacon next time as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
I really like the swiss cheese flavor! Just make sure it's shredded! The only thing I changed was decreased butter by about half and substituted it with cornstarch. I also added a bag of mixed veggies, Turkey Bacon, Italian Seasoning and a little Basil. Delicious and the kids loved it! Second time around, omitted milk, flour & butter. Added 1/2 & 1/2 and cornstarch. I also added Basil & ham. SOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
made this today as we all are not feeling to good. OH my it was just the the soup the family needed. So easy to make I also fried bacon to garnish also used chedder cheese.Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Delicious and easy to make. One change I made since I didn't have swiss cheese I used mild cheddar and 1oz of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vivivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States