Chunky Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This soup was delicious! I omitted onions due to allergies. I added 4 slices of chopped, cooked bacon for extra flavor but didn't need to. I added this to my recipe box permanently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Excellent soup ~ Used garlic instead of onions and turned out so beautiful. Wish I had doubled the recipe so that there would be left overs for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Excellent soup! I love potato soup and I think this is the best. Since my family likes chunky but I like smooth potato soup I did a in-between thing and I half way mashed the potatoes right before I served it. So it had a smooth texture but you still got a few chuncks. It came out great. This one is in my recipe box for good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary2011

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hellertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Batesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
LOVED this soup! I used vegetable broth and cheddar because that is what I had on hand. This was so easy and delicious! Husband said: "This is a keeper!" Thanks for a great winter warmer! FIVE STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Simply a great Recipe. My mother was under the weather with the flu and requested some potato soup, and of course I looked on Allrecipes for a great recipe. I wasn't disappointed at all. I am not a fan of celery so I didn't add it. I didn't have swiss cheese so I substituted that for some sharp cheddar. It was really good.It was a Hit with my mom, who asked for the recipe. Thanks for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
This soup was delicious!! Even my 8 month old had some and loved it!! I did make a few changes...added garlic (3-4 cloves) and fresh thyme to the veggies and crunchy bacon and green onion on the top of each serving. I found that the 1 1/2 cups of stock was not enough to cover my veggies so I doubled it and increased the butter, flour, and milk as needed. Served it with crunchy French Bread on the side. Next time I think I will add mushrooms...although my husband might protest!! My 3 year old and I will LOVE it!! Will make this more often for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My boys were sure I could not sneak them a meatless meal without them noticing, and this is the recipe that won me the bet! Perfect for a cold winter day and doesn't need tweaking like so many other recipes (tho I used veggie broth, hey I had to win!). I think this would also be perfect to modify, make your own masterpiece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This recipe was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Has never made a soup from scratch before and I will say this was a great 1st experience! I would say people who like flavor (me) will definately need to add quite a bit of salt, pepper and some garlic at the end, but that's no big deal. I added more celery and onion to increase the flavor as well. But cooking times were spot on. The base was creamy, not milky and it all was very easy to make! Delious result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
The best potato soup I've ever made -- didn't change one thing about the recipe. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANDYMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conover, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States