Chunky Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was a great I used cheddar instead of swiss & added bacon & other seasonings :) yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlzfish2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
My father, who rarely likes anything I cook, loved it! My boyfriend ate 3 bowls of it! Thanks for a simple, but delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I followed the suggestion of adding in more garlic and cooking up the onion and garlic before adding the rest of the veggies with broth. I'm a vegetarian so I used a veggie broth and added Morningstar Bacon as a last step. In the future I'd like to substitute the recipe with a little bit of dill instead of parsley and see how that turns out. My 19 month old son and husband just loved this stick to your ribs soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Loved this! It was my first time making potato soup and was it ever yummy! I didn't have swiss cheese and used some kind of Italian 5 cheese blend and it was still delicious. Next time I will definitly try the swiss! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
The family liked this very much. Had to use cheddar, because it's what I had. Doubled the recipe, but had to add more broth to cover the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
It was good. I give 5 stars if I don't change anything, but, since I did modify it a bit I'll give it 4 stars. I exchanged swiss cheese for cheddar. And then I added a can of cream corn, makes it really creamy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! We used cheddar cheese instead of Swiss and it was great this way, too. Adding bacon would make it better. The only thing I'd change is a little less pepper, but that's a personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This recipe was AWESOME!!! However, I did not include any swiss cheese. My family LOVEDthe soup. Very hearty on a cold day, and does not take long to make! I will be making it again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was so good and tasty had to make a few adjustments but turned out wonderful. Add minced garlic, bacon and used cheddar cheese instead of swiss. I also doubled the recipe to have left overs. I will make this from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is so delicious! I'm not usually a fan of soup but the entire family is and I'm so glad I tried this! Like others I fry 8oz of bacon then saute celery and onions in the fat before I add the potatoes. I also add rosemary, thyme and lots of salt and pepper as well as garlic to the potato mixture. Since we eat is so quickly around here I double the batch and add a couple extra cups of water to thin it out; mine always seemed very thick and this works. Tonight's batch got 2 cups of diced ham from the leftover Christmas ham. This is a weekly dish around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAISLEYANNE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States