Chunky Pecan Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe using half the recommended chocolate. When this is my substitute for pecan pie, I omit the chocolate. I line my baking pan with foil and spray with PAM. My solution for "leaky" crust is to substitute 2 refrigerated pie crusts, cut and pieced together. This is so yummy and easy to serve. After cooling I cut into about 20 pieces, place each in a flattened cupcake liner, and guests serve themselves every Thanksgiving and Christmas. Also, this freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Fantastic. I add 1 T of bourbon/brandy and more pecans. I also sprinkle the chocolate chips on top of the crust before I pour in the filling (use less chocolate). These are always a hit--parents crowded around the platter at a school event and ate them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Everyone loved this! I used walnuts instead of pecans and half the amount of chocolate chips with some regular and some dark and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is such an easy recipe and very tasty as well. I added a customized version because I made a couple of changes. I added 1/2 cup of finely chopped pecans to the crust, which made it very tasty. Since semi-sweet chocolate can be a little overpowering, I used milk chocolate morsels in the same quantity as stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Made as written and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
So easy to make and everyone in my office loved these bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Helm Jick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These were so good and so easy to make! I made the recipe exactly as is, except without vanilla because I didn't have any and they were still delish. Very sweet and very chocolaty. One thing that I would add is these get better after a day or two. They were good straight out of the oven but fell apart a bit. By the next day they held together well and the flavours just seemed even richer. I just covered them and left them on the counter and they seemed to taste better every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, but the crust on these did not turn out well--tasted like unbaked flour and butter. Don't know if baking longer would have helped or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is far and away the BEST recipes I have ever used from allrecipes. Love it! The first time I made these exactly as written and they were the best thing I've ever eaten, but hubby thought they had too much chocolate. The next time I used 1/2 bag of chocolate chips instead of the chunks per his request. I prefer the recipe as written, but either way, these are delicious, and very easy too make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
So amazingly delicious. i didn't do anything different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States