Chunky Pecan Pie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is a great recipe using half the recommended chocolate. When this is my substitute for pecan pie, I omit the chocolate. I line my baking pan with foil and spray with PAM. My solution for "leaky" crust is to substitute 2 refrigerated pie crusts, cut and pieced together. This is so yummy and easy to serve. After cooling I cut into about 20 pieces, place each in a flattened cupcake liner, and guests serve themselves every Thanksgiving and Christmas. Also, this freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Fantastic. I add 1 T of bourbon/brandy and more pecans. I also sprinkle the chocolate chips on top of the crust before I pour in the filling (use less chocolate). These are always a hit--parents crowded around the platter at a school event and ate them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Everyone loved this! I used walnuts instead of pecans and half the amount of chocolate chips with some regular and some dark and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is such an easy recipe and very tasty as well. I added a customized version because I made a couple of changes. I added 1/2 cup of finely chopped pecans to the crust, which made it very tasty. Since semi-sweet chocolate can be a little overpowering, I used milk chocolate morsels in the same quantity as stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Made as written and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
So easy to make and everyone in my office loved these bars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
These were so good and so easy to make! I made the recipe exactly as is, except without vanilla because I didn't have any and they were still delish. Very sweet and very chocolaty. One thing that I would add is these get better after a day or two. They were good straight out of the oven but fell apart a bit. By the next day they held together well and the flavours just seemed even richer. I just covered them and left them on the counter and they seemed to taste better every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, but the crust on these did not turn out well--tasted like unbaked flour and butter. Don't know if baking longer would have helped or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This is far and away the BEST recipes I have ever used from allrecipes. Love it! The first time I made these exactly as written and they were the best thing I've ever eaten, but hubby thought they had too much chocolate. The next time I used 1/2 bag of chocolate chips instead of the chunks per his request. I prefer the recipe as written, but either way, these are delicious, and very easy too make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
So amazingly delicious. i didn't do anything different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States