Chunky Pear Butter with a Lemon Twist Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Honestly the greatest "online" recipe I've tried. I did add a teaspoon of salt to it, just too give it a little depth. Otherwise, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Very good! Yet very sweet. It almost taste like a candy. Next time I would use only one cup of sugar. Otherwise the lemon and the limoncello work PERFECTLY together bringing out a very good taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Great! Simple! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnemucca, Nevada, USA
Living In: Tuolumne, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
No idea why this is called "Chunky" when you puree the pears and there isn't a chunk to be found. Flavor is good but the lemon flavor doesn't come through, and I doubled the amount of limoncello. I cooked the pears with the skin on the pureed the whole pot with a hand blender. Worked really slick that way. I opted out of the almond extract and added vanilla extract and a vanilla bean to the mixture. But, I did not add the extract or limoncello until it was good and thick because I felt it would be pointless and lost in evaporation. It was taking forever for it to thicken, so I moved it to a shallow saute pan for more surface area. It still took well over two hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This tasted really good, but I thought it was a bit too sweet (only used 3/4 C sugar) and it came out quite runny. Not like the spreadable "applebutter" thickness I was looking for. But that was probably my own fault, I didnt cook the fruit until soft and then simmer for an hour. I put it all into a slow cooker on high for a few hours, then used hand held blender to puree. I added some cornstarch to try to thicken it up, but that didnt work. I used lemon juice instead of the liquor (didnt have any) and omitted the zest (didnt have any of that either).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMS1115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colma, California, USA
Living In: Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JERIM
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Jenne, If you use jelly jars and seal them they should store for several months on the pantry shelf. Once the seal is broken it should be stored in the refrigerator and should be good for at least a couple of weeks. Thanks for checking out my recipe. Hope you get to try it and enjoy it as much as my family did. Jerim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JERIM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I haven't made this yet - so I stuck with everyone else's rating. I have a question. How long will this keep for, and where do you store it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
Delicious! I also used lemon juice instead of liqueur. Next time, I'll reduce the amount of lemon juice slightly so the lemon flavor doesn't overpower the pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DBudd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Neches, Texas, USA
Living In: Orange, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! The only thing I did differently was to add lemon juice instead of liqueur (I didn't have any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Caper Butter Sauce

See how to make a simple, classic French butter sauce with lemon and capers.

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States