Chunky Monkey Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Nice, needs more sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zaizou

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Good but it's almost overwhelming with chocolate chips and maple syrup. Fun alternative, but not something that I'd serve often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
WOW! Made per the recipe and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Very good. Banana adds a lot of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
These were alright. Of all the pancakes I've eaten (and I've had a fair share in my lifetime lol!), these aren't top on my "favorites" list. The texture was not to my liking at all, but then again, (as the title implies) these ARE CHUNKY monkey pancakes. If you like bananas, nuts and chocolate (and a chunky texture), you'll LOVE these. Admittedly, I enjoy all of these ingredients, but not in pancake form. I guess I'm a traditionalist at heart.... :) I might give these another try, but will definitely omit the nuts (I'd use as garnish instead), MASH my bananas (as opposed to dicing them) and substitute peanut butter swirl morsels for the chocolate chips called for (there's just something INTOXICATING about the combo of chocolate, PB and banana together). A drizzle of maple syrup and Hershey's chocolate sauce made for a decadently sweet treat. If for nothing else, I was at least able to enjoy breakfast for dinner, something I don't do often. Thanks for sharing your recipe, CCL! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Made this for my children this weekend, they all loved the pancakes. The batter did make a small batch though so I would probably double it. I left out the nuts as we don't care for them. I loved these pancakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This recipe was amazing and I don't even really like chocolate chips in pancakes very much. I didn't have any pecans but I bet they'd be even better with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I changed these up a bit based on the ingredients I had in the house. Instead of chocolate chips, I used creamed cinnamon honey for the added sweetness, and I omitted the pecans and vanilla. Turned out delicious, and no syrup was needed. I will definitely make again, and eventually try out the recipe with chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I've been making something like this for a while but used complete pancake mix. I decided to try this to see if it would be better. I didn't have skim milk and used 1% and didn't have pecans. I usually mash my bananas, personal preference. Also I don't add the chocolate chips in the batter since they tend to sink to the bottom or cluster on the pan. I pour the batter then sprinkle the chips on the top. The consistancy was a bit thin for me. Whenever I make this with a different recipe, I make a peanut butter syrup. 2 big scoopfuls of chucky peanut butter and 1/2 cup of pancake syrup. Microwave for 30 seconds, take out, stir, and microwave for 20 seconds. It's a very sweet combo, but my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
These were very good, the kids approve! I think it tastes like chocolate chip banana bread. I used 2% milk and used 1 cup instead otherwise the mix was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Todd's Famous Blueberry Pancakes

See how to make delicious blueberry pancakes from scratch.

How to Make Blueberry Pancakes

There’s a better way to make blueberry pancakes. See how it's done!

How to Make Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make classic diner-style pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States