Chunky Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I had never made my own sauce... thought I'd give it a shot since this one looked pretty simple. It's really sooo much better than jarred and not a lot of extra work. I've made it twice now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Really good. I used a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce, added 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning. Served with the Nirvana Meatballs and spaghetti (I cooked the meatballs in the sauce; meatball recipe is on this site) - excellent meal. My daughter asked that we have this every Wednesday, and dub the day "Spaghetti Wednesday".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
so easy and so good. i made this to use in fabolous zucchini grinders from this site. great didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
a nice recipe when you want a no- fuss quick sauce that doesn't require many ingredients. i used this recipe for lasagna and it worked great. i subbed italian seasoning for the oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Can't beat this for fast and easy. I added some basil and a bay leaf and simmered for an hour or so because I was making it for the next day and was in no rush. I used about half the olive oil. Finally, I diced up and added a small quantify of smoked ham I had in the freezer for a little extra flavor. Served over some whole wheat penne pasta this is is a pretty healthy and very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Nice and easy and very tasty....doubled the recipe and used a 28 oz. can of crushed and a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes.....also used dried basil instead of oregano. Used this chunky suace with Awesome Eggplant Rollatine from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I thought this recipe was great! I added a little bit of italian seasoning, just to ensure the flavor was a little stronger. Also I ended up adding a little extra sugar and a dash extra of salt. The canned tomatoes were a little acidic. I made one full recipe of this, but I felt like I needed more. I used this sauce as a dip for meatballs. Will definitely make this again, but in a larger quanity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I really liked this recipe as I was in a hurry and found no canned spaghetti sauce in the cupboard. I followed the recipe except for using 1 teaspoon italian seasoning in place of oregano. Now that I've tried this I prefer it to any canned sauce. It's so simple and you can make it all in one pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Haynes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Unbelievable how easy this was and absolutely delicious! Added bay leaf and ground pepper for some more flavor. Quck, easy, deliocious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States