Chunky Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I had never made my own sauce... thought I'd give it a shot since this one looked pretty simple. It's really sooo much better than jarred and not a lot of extra work. I've made it twice now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Really good. I used a 15 oz. can of tomato sauce, added 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning. Served with the Nirvana Meatballs and spaghetti (I cooked the meatballs in the sauce; meatball recipe is on this site) - excellent meal. My daughter asked that we have this every Wednesday, and dub the day "Spaghetti Wednesday".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPEFAN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
so easy and so good. i made this to use in fabolous zucchini grinders from this site. great didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARBUG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
a nice recipe when you want a no- fuss quick sauce that doesn't require many ingredients. i used this recipe for lasagna and it worked great. i subbed italian seasoning for the oregano
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Can't beat this for fast and easy. I added some basil and a bay leaf and simmered for an hour or so because I was making it for the next day and was in no rush. I used about half the olive oil. Finally, I diced up and added a small quantify of smoked ham I had in the freezer for a little extra flavor. Served over some whole wheat penne pasta this is is a pretty healthy and very tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Memphis Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Nice and easy and very tasty....doubled the recipe and used a 28 oz. can of crushed and a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes.....also used dried basil instead of oregano. Used this chunky suace with Awesome Eggplant Rollatine from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I thought this recipe was great! I added a little bit of italian seasoning, just to ensure the flavor was a little stronger. Also I ended up adding a little extra sugar and a dash extra of salt. The canned tomatoes were a little acidic. I made one full recipe of this, but I felt like I needed more. I used this sauce as a dip for meatballs. Will definitely make this again, but in a larger quanity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I really liked this recipe as I was in a hurry and found no canned spaghetti sauce in the cupboard. I followed the recipe except for using 1 teaspoon italian seasoning in place of oregano. Now that I've tried this I prefer it to any canned sauce. It's so simple and you can make it all in one pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbie Haynes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Unbelievable how easy this was and absolutely delicious! Added bay leaf and ground pepper for some more flavor. Quck, easy, deliocious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States