Chunky Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This recipe is delicious! I added some sauteed mushrooms and green peppers to the sauce to add something a little extra. I love this sauce. It's so easy to make and change to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This was delicious. My changes: 2 tsp sugar, 1 tsp oregano, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp salt, then I pureed the sauce (my kids like it better that way). I doubt I will buy marinara at the store anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Tasty. Nothing amazing, but a good basic recipe. I added a lot of Itallian seasoning and about a teaspoon more salt. I also pured about 3/4 of the sauce in my Cuisinart. I think this gave it a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Good recipe using items I always have in. I used this sauce to go with meatballs. I added some dried basil and italian seasoning. My daughters and myself loved it, my husband thought it tasted a little sour. So if I make it again I thnk I'll add a bit more sugar. Many Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I made this in a pinch when i could not find my other sauce recipe and it was sooo yummy and easy. This is one of the few recipes i did not change a thing too! please try you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was so quick and easy it was unbelievable! I added a little green pepper and mushroom, then cooked Italian sausage on the side to serve with it ... amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Great basic sauce. I didn't have an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce, so I used a 6 oz. can of tomato paste and added 4 ounces of water. Let it simmer, covered, for quite a while, until dinner was ready. Added a little fresh basil and no salt. Had this with Fast and Friendly Meatballs, from this site, whole wheat angel hair, and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
When it had been cooking for 15 minutes and didn't have much flavor, I sauteed two more cloves of garlic, plus added a 3/4 tsp of Italian seasoning. Even after the addition, we had to put on a ton of Parmesan cheese to make it taste good. We're vegetarian so didn't have meatballs--perhaps that was the problem. It may taste good with meat, but didn't care for it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ErinInVegas
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Good basic recipe for marinara sauce. I forgot to add the sugar but it tasted just fine without. I used Italian style diced tomatoes so I didn't need the oregano, plus I don't really like it. I did add some dry parsley instead. Also, I added some cruched red peppers to the oil while it was heating up for some spice and used about 5 cloves of garlic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinInVegas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was great! Simple and tasty. I prefer a smoother sauce so I blended the onion, garlic and diced tomatos in the food processor then added that to the rest of the ingredients. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States