Chunky Marinara Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This recipe is delicious! I added some sauteed mushrooms and green peppers to the sauce to add something a little extra. I love this sauce. It's so easy to make and change to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This was delicious. My changes: 2 tsp sugar, 1 tsp oregano, 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp salt, then I pureed the sauce (my kids like it better that way). I doubt I will buy marinara at the store anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Tasty. Nothing amazing, but a good basic recipe. I added a lot of Itallian seasoning and about a teaspoon more salt. I also pured about 3/4 of the sauce in my Cuisinart. I think this gave it a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Good recipe using items I always have in. I used this sauce to go with meatballs. I added some dried basil and italian seasoning. My daughters and myself loved it, my husband thought it tasted a little sour. So if I make it again I thnk I'll add a bit more sugar. Many Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I made this in a pinch when i could not find my other sauce recipe and it was sooo yummy and easy. This is one of the few recipes i did not change a thing too! please try you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This was so quick and easy it was unbelievable! I added a little green pepper and mushroom, then cooked Italian sausage on the side to serve with it ... amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Great basic sauce. I didn't have an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce, so I used a 6 oz. can of tomato paste and added 4 ounces of water. Let it simmer, covered, for quite a while, until dinner was ready. Added a little fresh basil and no salt. Had this with Fast and Friendly Meatballs, from this site, whole wheat angel hair, and steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
When it had been cooking for 15 minutes and didn't have much flavor, I sauteed two more cloves of garlic, plus added a 3/4 tsp of Italian seasoning. Even after the addition, we had to put on a ton of Parmesan cheese to make it taste good. We're vegetarian so didn't have meatballs--perhaps that was the problem. It may taste good with meat, but didn't care for it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ErinInVegas
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Good basic recipe for marinara sauce. I forgot to add the sugar but it tasted just fine without. I used Italian style diced tomatoes so I didn't need the oregano, plus I don't really like it. I did add some dry parsley instead. Also, I added some cruched red peppers to the oil while it was heating up for some spice and used about 5 cloves of garlic. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinInVegas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was great! Simple and tasty. I prefer a smoother sauce so I blended the onion, garlic and diced tomatos in the food processor then added that to the rest of the ingredients. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States