Chunky Corn Chowder (Vegan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Love this recipe! My sister is vegan, so I'm always trying out new dinner options when she visits. This one is at the top of the list of vegan choices for us. We usually keep almond milk in the house instead of soy, so I substitute that and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana To Ten
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I used a package of frozen corn, coconut milk and instead of flour used corn starch, and just a dash of cayenne. Thanks for this recipe, it is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very easy to make and tasty. I added a little extra pepper, but kept everything else the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Fantastic! Also great using almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Great! So tasty and filling. I prefer to thicken using corn starch, so did that. It was my very time using soymilk, and very happy with it. Thank you for sharing. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I absolutely loved this dish. I did add a couple stalks of chopped celery and some vegan chicken flavored bouillon cubes for a little extra flavor. I also added a bit of salt. I believe next time I will go a little easier on the garlic powder., maybe a tsp instead of tablespoon. I ate 3 bowls and it warmed my tummy. My husband is not vegan but he enjoyed this also. Thank you so much for the recipe. Oh, I left the red skin on the potatoes for a little extra color and nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I am vegan, and my husband is gluten free. I substituted a few things: coconut milk for soy milk, and gluten free flour for flour. I also added extra garlic and some sage. Fresh parsley really did the trick too. Due to the xanthan gum and cornstarch in the gluten free flour, I ended up adding an extra cup of vegetable stock. I will add some Phoney Baloney's Vegan Coconut Bacon (also gluten free) once my next shipment comes. VERY DELICIOUS CHOWDER, AND I AM PICKY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Almond milk in place of soy makes for a creamier broth, plus a tablespoon of corn starch. The trick I use to add a kick is Old Bay seasoning...AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe last week.... My daughter asked me tonight if I could make it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States