Chunky Corn Chowder (Vegan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I am vegan, and my husband is gluten free. I substituted a few things: coconut milk for soy milk, and gluten free flour for flour. I also added extra garlic and some sage. Fresh parsley really did the trick too. Due to the xanthan gum and cornstarch in the gluten free flour, I ended up adding an extra cup of vegetable stock. I will add some Phoney Baloney's Vegan Coconut Bacon (also gluten free) once my next shipment comes. VERY DELICIOUS CHOWDER, AND I AM PICKY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I absolutely loved this dish. I did add a couple stalks of chopped celery and some vegan chicken flavored bouillon cubes for a little extra flavor. I also added a bit of salt. I believe next time I will go a little easier on the garlic powder., maybe a tsp instead of tablespoon. I ate 3 bowls and it warmed my tummy. My husband is not vegan but he enjoyed this also. Thank you so much for the recipe. Oh, I left the red skin on the potatoes for a little extra color and nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. Lots of veggies, creamy and hearty. Used 2c light cream and 1/2 cup 2% milk, so it wasn't vegan, but was vegetarian. Also, used frozen corn instead of canned, because I don't like canned corn. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
A really tasty, satisfying soup. I substituted 3 ears fresh corn for the canned, and fresh parsley for the dried. Also, I used half and half in place of soy milk (though no longer vegan, super creamy). I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IcarusAscending

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Really good and easy. Used almond milk instead of regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a good recipe - healthy, tasty and easy to make. I added potato/carrots into half cooked onion/garlic to keep the flavor and reduce one less bowl. The soup is a bit light so next time I will add more garlic and perhaps thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe last week.... My daughter asked me tonight if I could make it again tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Almond milk in place of soy makes for a creamier broth, plus a tablespoon of corn starch. The trick I use to add a kick is Old Bay seasoning...AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Great! So tasty and filling. I prefer to thicken using corn starch, so did that. It was my very time using soymilk, and very happy with it. Thank you for sharing. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Fantastic! Also great using almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States