Chunky Corn Chowder (Vegan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
This was absolutely delicious. Lots of veggies, creamy and hearty. Used 2c light cream and 1/2 cup 2% milk, so it wasn't vegan, but was vegetarian. Also, used frozen corn instead of canned, because I don't like canned corn. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very good, however, the second time I made this I did add some other seasonings. I did add celery, 1/4 cup, thyme, and a pinch of red pepper. We did like the fact it was vegan. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mountain Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was tasty. Used some corn starch to create a thicker stew. Fresh cracked pepper gave it a nice taste. Needs a kick of some sort. I'm not a cook so i'm not sure what would help...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bronze123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I am vegan, and my husband is gluten free. I substituted a few things: coconut milk for soy milk, and gluten free flour for flour. I also added extra garlic and some sage. Fresh parsley really did the trick too. Due to the xanthan gum and cornstarch in the gluten free flour, I ended up adding an extra cup of vegetable stock. I will add some Phoney Baloney's Vegan Coconut Bacon (also gluten free) once my next shipment comes. VERY DELICIOUS CHOWDER, AND I AM PICKY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amber_eileen
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This recipe was pretty good and super filling, like another reviewer I added pepper to give it a bit of a kick. Very comforting and hearty dish. It was nice to have a vegan version of this classic as I've been vegetarian for a few years and am trying to make that vegan step and this didn't make me feel like I was missing out. I agree with the author that it does have a more...creamy broth taste, as opposed to a full out cream taste, but I appreciated that as I'm not the biggest fan of cream soups. Definitely worth a try! Makes a lot too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was very easy. I love it as well as the family. It will be saved. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Almond milk in place of soy makes for a creamier broth, plus a tablespoon of corn starch. The trick I use to add a kick is Old Bay seasoning...AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This is a good recipe - healthy, tasty and easy to make. I added potato/carrots into half cooked onion/garlic to keep the flavor and reduce one less bowl. The soup is a bit light so next time I will add more garlic and perhaps thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
A really tasty, satisfying soup. I substituted 3 ears fresh corn for the canned, and fresh parsley for the dried. Also, I used half and half in place of soy milk (though no longer vegan, super creamy). I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IcarusAscending

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spearfish, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nana To Ten
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I used a package of frozen corn, coconut milk and instead of flour used corn starch, and just a dash of cayenne. Thanks for this recipe, it is a real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States