Chunky Chicken Noodle Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
You have to add a LOT more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I'm feeling under the weather today, so I whipped up this quick soup for me to have something comforting and that would soothe my sore throat. This was VERY easy. I used organic chicken broth and I added no extra salt. Because I had no leftover chicken in the fridge, I poached some chunked chicken in the chicken broth, then sauteed the vegetables (I added some fresh minced garlic) and then added the broth with the chicken and everything else. This was just what I needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I have relied on this short cut chicken noodle soup many, many times. Thank goodness for quick takes like this on the original, more time-intensive classics – especially when you’ve got a sick hubs at home and chicken noodle soup is in order “stat.” Common ingredients I always have on hand allowed me to fix a soothing bowl of chicken noodle soup for Hubs in no time. I’m not a fan of any seasoning in my chicken noodle soup, so I omitted the marjoram and thyme, just giving it a sprinkle of fresh chopped parsley to finish. I also used a pastina, acini de pepe, (a tiny soup pasta) rather than the egg noodles. Use a good boxed chicken broth or stock and you’ve got something pretty darned close to “the real thing,” simmered for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This was an awesome recipe. I will make it again. I used the chicken the is roasted at the store. It really added a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Easy recipe and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Excellent! I'm not a big chicken noodle soup fan, but this had me coming back for more. I made a double batch using a mix of leftover turkey and chicken breast. I would cut back on the marjoram and thyme just a little, but otherwise this was awesome (and easy). Update: I made this again using half of the marjoram and thyme, used garlic instead of onion, and then added about a cup of white wine (chardonnay) in place of a cup of broth. This modification was absolutely fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I love this recipe. The only thing that I do differently is only put in half the marjoram.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Good base recipe. But lacked pizazz. Added comin, extra salt, and fresh garlic. Followed the advice if other users and bought a rotisserie chicken. However, in order to be more flavorful, I do think it needs to simmer longer after bringing to a boil (before adding noodles and parsley). Also, in order to help this be more of a cold remedy, I added bell pepper, ocra, peas, corn and red chard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
OK chicken noodle soup. Just OK. The spices miss the mark, in my opinion. They should have an influence without becoming the flavor itself. After copiously following this recipe, I would cut back on both the thyme and marjoram. I think I prefer other recipes that use parsley instead. And packaged egg noodles? Seriously? If you want your chicken noodle soup to be actually *good* (not just edible), make the egg noodles from scratch (2 1/2 cups flour, 2 beaten eggs, 1/2 cup milk, and a dash of salt, mixed together in a large bowl into dough, rolled out on a floured surface 1/8 to 1/4 inch thick, cut into thin strips).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
awesome, easy and quick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States