Chunky Banana Nut Chip Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Three stars as written, five stars after modifications. Based on my experience making ice cream, I had to make a few changes to make this recipe work for me. I was concerned about the incredibly large amount of bananas, and the texture and consistency it would lend to the ice cream--that many bananas surely would compete with the "cream" in ice cream (as other reviewers indeed noted). As it is, I used half as many bananas and it was plenty banana flavored. Because bananas are sweet on their own, I reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup and it was perfect. I like my ice cream rich, so I added an egg, and replaced the milk with half and half. I also left out the vanilla as I felt it wasn't necessary. Finally, I eliminated the nuts just because that was hubby's request, and used good, chopped, bittersweet chocolate rather than the chocolate chips. A food processor or blender isn't necessary and only makes more dishes to wash. Whisk the egg for a minute or two till light and fluffy, add the sugar and whisk another minute or so to dissolve it. Mash the bananas with a fork and add to the egg/sugar mixture with the cream, half and half and lemon juice. Chill for several hours before churning. It turned out intensely rich, velvety, and packed with fresh banana flavor--a 5-star ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
TIP: You must freeze ice cream for at least two to three hours after you make it in your ice cream maker if you want it to be like the consistency of ice cream you get from the grocery store, this is called tempering. When it comes directly from the ice cream maker it is very much like soft serve ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephany Ogle Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
This was fantastic...much like the famous brand. I reduced the sugar by half and used very ripe bananas, and it was plenty sweet with a very intense banana flavor. I also used a frozen bittersweet Lindt chocolate bar instead of the chips and added a hint a cinnamon to add a homemade touch. One trick to making ice cream work in an ice cream maker is to make sure both the canister and the paddle are very, very frozen. I usually freeze at least 2 days ahead of time and remove canister from freezer just before mixture is ready to pour into canister.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2001
I am diabetic and used equal sweetner to cut the sugar out. My grandkids loved this ice cream when we made it last weekend. It was very easy and delicious. They want to make more next weekend. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
this is really good.. i was a little doubtful of "banana" ice-cream.... but it was quite delicious!! make sure you use overripe bananas for the best banana taste. i used my cuisinart ice-cream maker to make this.. and it was overflowing so i would make it in two batches like the other reviewer said, or just halve the recipe. the ice-cream was tasty and very easy to make compared to the other ice-cream recipes i've used so far. try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
This ice cream is almost better than the famous brand's. It doesn't seem like overripe bananas are required for this recipe; I also prefer adding regular-sized chocolate chip, or even chocolate chunks, than miniature chocolate chips. Will be made often at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
This ice cream was delicious, and tasted almost better than Ben and Jerry's Chunky Monkey! (Super easy as well!) For my half-gallon maker, I used 5 bananas and doubled the rest of the ingredients. It turned out great, and wasn't runny at all! I would say that it turned out a little like the consistency of cool whip, and twice as good! Thanks for sharing! ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This was fabulous! I chopped my chocolate chips very fine and it was wonderful! This will be added to my ice cream list to make over and over. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flatwoods, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
DELICIOUS. The one change I made was to use regular cream instead of the heavy kind so it wouldn't leave such a taste of butter fat in the mouth. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Oh My Heavenly Goodness! Wow, this is such great ice cream, everybody in my family LOVED this. I did cut down the sugar by quite a bit since my bananas were VERY ripe and VERY ripe bananas are VERY high in sugar and HIGH SUGAR=Soupy Ice Cream. I would HIGHLY recommend this recipe, just watch the sugar, the riper the bananas the more you should cut down the sugar in order to get ice cream and not a smoothie as some reviewers complained. Also, try using Manzana(baby) bananas, their excellent flavor really shined through this ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States