Chunky Banana Nut Chip Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
Great recipe! I used about half the sugar and very ripe bananas. Definately sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
there's no denying this ice cream is delicious as is. i just enjoyed another bowl last night with a little chocolate syrup. it was the perfect recipe for me because i had a bunch of bananas that were getting very ripe and i just couldn't bear making (and eating) another loaf of banana bread. the only thing i really did differently was use about 3 cups of heavy cream and 1 cup of half and half because i'm cheap and wanted to make another ice cream from this site, blueberry cheesecake (fabulous!) and didn't want to buy two quarts of expensive heavy cream. while this recipe isn't nearly as rich as the blueberry one, it's still fantastic. nuts, chocolate, chips, bananas...what's not to love?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I guess I like bananas more than the rest, because I didnt think 4 bananas was even CLOSE to too many! thats crazy-talk! I actually omitted the 'extras' to make a basic banana ice cream, and then added crushed oreos in the last 10 min of the ice cream maker's cycle. super yum. Plan to make again with super over-ripe bananas next time, because my only complaint was my bananas were not spotted brown, so the banana flavor was too "green", IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Three stars as written, five stars after modifications. Based on my experience making ice cream, I had to make a few changes to make this recipe work for me. I was concerned about the incredibly large amount of bananas, and the texture and consistency it would lend to the ice cream--that many bananas surely would compete with the "cream" in ice cream (as other reviewers indeed noted). As it is, I used half as many bananas and it was plenty banana flavored. Because bananas are sweet on their own, I reduced the sugar to 2/3 cup and it was perfect. I like my ice cream rich, so I added an egg, and replaced the milk with half and half. I also left out the vanilla as I felt it wasn't necessary. Finally, I eliminated the nuts just because that was hubby's request, and used good, chopped, bittersweet chocolate rather than the chocolate chips. A food processor or blender isn't necessary and only makes more dishes to wash. Whisk the egg for a minute or two till light and fluffy, add the sugar and whisk another minute or so to dissolve it. Mash the bananas with a fork and add to the egg/sugar mixture with the cream, half and half and lemon juice. Chill for several hours before churning. It turned out intensely rich, velvety, and packed with fresh banana flavor--a 5-star ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Very good and easy to make. I would have liked for it to have been more banana-y tasting, so next time I'll add one extra banana. Everybody else thought it was fine as prepared. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Our family loves chunky monkey ice cream and I misplaced the recipe I used to use to make my banana ice cream before so we were anxious to try this recipe. I hesitated to use the lemon juice called for in the recipe because I was concerned it would give the ice cream a tart flavor. I added the lemon juice anyways because i thought it was a small enough amount that we wouldn't be able to taste it. I assumed it was just to keep the bananas from browning. I should have gone with my original instinct. The ice cream had a tartness to it that took away from the flavor of the banana. It did not have the flavor we were hoping for. We will try making the ice cream again, but next time without the addition of the lemon juice. I feel that since the bananas are frozen immediately after they are peeled and processed, they shouldn't brown but if they do, I'd rather have a little browning and be able to enjoy the flavor of the banana without the tartness. Thank you for a good base for banana ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Oh My Heavenly Goodness! Wow, this is such great ice cream, everybody in my family LOVED this. I did cut down the sugar by quite a bit since my bananas were VERY ripe and VERY ripe bananas are VERY high in sugar and HIGH SUGAR=Soupy Ice Cream. I would HIGHLY recommend this recipe, just watch the sugar, the riper the bananas the more you should cut down the sugar in order to get ice cream and not a smoothie as some reviewers complained. Also, try using Manzana(baby) bananas, their excellent flavor really shined through this ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
it seemed easy first but i think i made a mistake with measure.thats the reason ice cream was not creamy but icy.i know its my fault but sorry i wont make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Amazingly easy and such good ice cream! I would make no changes. I will print this one and put it in my permanant recipe file. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This is the BEST ice cream recipe on this site! It can't get easier or better. I have made this so many times and it always turns out perfect. So many compliments...I can't say enough. Thanks Stephany!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Paleo Tropical Ice Cream

A fruity, dairy-free frozen treat with coconut milk instead of cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States