Chunky Bacon and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I did not have Bob Evans home fry diced potatoes, I used equal amounts fresh potatoes that I cut as if I was making home fries. This is a nice base recipe but it needs a bit of goosing up for our family. I threw in more bacon and quite a few spices before it got to where we liked it. I doubt I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Bacon bacon bacon! Who doesn't love bacon? The more the merrier. This soup is quite yummy. I think fresh parsley would be fabulous, and that is the only change I would make. Yes, I added more bacon than the recipe calls for. I also added less liquids than it calls for. I did add the 4 cups milk, but 14 ounces less of the chicken broth. I also doubled this so my honey could have some lunches for the week. He is in heaven. He loves it! It's cold and snowy out this evening, so it is keeping us warm! Thanks for sharing the recipe. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Sutliff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2011
As with all chowder-like dishes, bacon is best when it is very crunchy. To make it easy, I used onion in place of the leek. I also used my own potatoes and cut them into small cubes. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
it was amazing i make it every week for dinner and i also bring it for my lunch at work every day!!!!! i just dont get tird of it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Good soup. I liked it and it had a lot of flavor. I took some of your ideas for my own version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DriverBarry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Really great starting point, but needed some tweaking. I used some nice red potatoes, added some red pepper flakes, salt, pepper, and cheese. You just can't have potato and bacon without cheese. And last minute I threw in about one Tablespoon of chives chopped up all nice. Oh man, it was so good. Going into my recipe box and is going to be made again and again. mmmmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exploding Penguin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
The liquid was too thin and we thought it lacked some flavor. I ended up thickening it up some. I will not make this again without making some definite modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is a great starting point. I've made it several times, and gradually adjusted it to my personal preference. I add a LOT more bacon (very unhealthy I know) and I also added some cheddar cheese- making it a little thicker and more flavorful. Add the grated cheese at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosajfz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Yuummmmy! I didn't have chicken broth on hand so I used 1 can of cream of chicken, and one can of cream of mushroom. I added some cooked potatoes and bacon with some cheddar cheese on top. Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States