Chunky Apple Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I made this for Christmas gifts and it was a hit! Delicious, too. I used my Kitchen Aid Food processor to do the apples and it made fast work of a tedious chore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mauston, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
How I wish I'd followed the original recipe!! I made the mistake of using more flour as suggested..I am not a happy baker! I have no one to blame but myself... So dear people...follow the recipe..DO NOT ADD MORE FLOUR...it's beyond me why others thought they had to!! LIVE AND LEARN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
This is interesting - I use a recipe called "Rocky Mountain Apple Bread" from Sunset's Breads cookbook, except that the recipe states 3 and 1/2 cups of flour! Everything else is exactly the same! (maybe it's a typo here?) So if you are going to make this, I recommend using 3 and a half cups of flour and you will have two nice big 9x5 loaves of tasty apple raisin nut bread! Also, I soak the raisins (or sometimes cranberries) in hot water for maybe 10 min. before adding them to the batter, so they are plumper and juicier. And if you don't have buttermilk on hand, you can add a splash (like half a Tbsp) of lemon juice to the 1/2 cup of milk and let it sit a few min. and it seems to work great! Hope this helps. Enjoy!! (I give this 5 stars if you use 3 and a half cups of flour, not 2 and a half cups!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Great! Substituted dried cranberries for the raisins and chppoed pecans for the walnuts....could use chopped dates/peanuts too....DELICIOUS!!!! I did add a little more flour (3 cups instead of 2) so the dough wasn't as runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I served this to about 10 people and all of them liked it. This is a good breakfast bread that balances the "healthy" and "indulgent" sides of breakfast foods. Next time I will try brushing the top with buttermilk and butter to enhance the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I hestitated even giving this recipe a 4 but did so based on flavor - not texture. I guess I am in the minority but I did have to add more flour otherwise the raisins would have been on the bottom - very soupy mixture. The recipe did not state how well the eggs, etc should beaten. It would always be considered very important that a contributor state exactly if the liquid ingredients are to be beaten with a mixeror just whisked together. This could make a bit difference to the finished product. Unfortunately on this site it isn't possible to contact the author of a recipe directly which would be a big asset.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I thought this bread was good. My kids loved it. I left out the raisins because i didn't have any, and added a few extra apples. I did use the low fat mayo, (the kind with olive oil in it) and it came out just fine. It was done at about 45 minutes, not sure if that is because of the mayo switch or not, but watch the time when you are baking this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
made as is (except only had low fat mayo). This was a quick and easy recipe and the bread was delicious! the loaf probably won't last for long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
i thought this bread was phenomenal! i left out the nuts and halved the recipe for a thanksgiving appetizer, and everyone loved it. i used reduced-fat mayo, although the footnote says not to, and i still thought it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I was on a Thanksgiving bread making marathon and tried this recipe to use up some apples and other ingredients...and it was really good! It was pretty sweet, but I liked it that way. I didn't add walnuts because I can't stand them. I'm going to try it again without the mayo and see what happens, because I have been craving this bread for a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States