Chunks of Glass Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2000
I wasn't sure what I was suppose to do with the butter and graham cracker crumbs. Do I use them as I would use grease and flour for a cake pan or use it like melted butter and graham crumbs in a crust like cheesecake. I ended up just not using that part and mixed up jello and pineapple juice mixture in a bowl and it was a hit at my sons first birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
I've never made a geletin salad in my life. :) I've made jello, but never been creative about it. Considering this was the first one I've ever tried, (pressured into it for Thanksgiving) I consider this recipe to be tops. It looks difficult, but even my 6 year old had fun with it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
My family enjoyed eating this. I was a little disappointed in how it looked. i read that it was beautiful, but mine didn't turn out that way. After they tasted it, everyone loved it and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I don't even like jello very much, but this stuff is good! I helped my 13 y.o. make this, and it looked like we had a science project going on! A couple of tips, if you have a springform pan, use it! Mine has a tube pan insert so it was perfect. Makes it effortless to unmold this. I noticed several reviews where people were wondering what to do with the butter and crumbs. Just butter the bottom of the pan and scatter the crumbs in, shake around and dump out the excess. Vanilla wafers worked great for us. Make sure the pineapple is in syrup, not juice, the thickness and sweetness is important. Also, I think using real whipping cream is a must, forget the coolwhip...too thick and artificial tasting. This makes such a pretty dessert, perfect for summer cook-outs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
My step-kids wouldn't even eat this. Was a lot of hassle to make something that was pretty, but not really edible. It nearly all went to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
I added this to my Christmas dinner buffet table and it looked great and tasted fabulous!! (I opted to omit the graham crackers) I doubled the recipe and put it in a bunt pan. Easy to make the day before!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2003
This was GREAT! I made it for my daughter's birthday party and everyone loved it and there wasn't any left by the end of the party; that RARELY happens with jello. I omitted the graham cracker topping, I thought it would ruin the look. I actually don't have a gelatin mold; I used a bundt cake pan and it worked out perfectly. This is a PERFECT gelatin salad for those of us who don't like fruit floating in our jello!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oostburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner. It was VERY easy to make, looked BEAUTIFUL on the table and tasted GREAT! What more can you ask for in a recipe?! THANKS for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Osawatomie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
My children loved this for a Thanksgiving Dinner dessert. Even my 1 year old enjoyed it! Very pretty presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States