Chunks of Glass Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
As is, not that great - hence the three stars. Also I don't understand the need for the graham cracker crumbs. I made this as stated once many, many years ago. Since then I skip straight to the lemon/pineapple/whipped cream mixture, add chopped bits of pineapple and pour into the mold sans the 'chunks of glass' (and the graham crackers crumbs). Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I've made this recipe many times & my family loves it. It makes a wonderful light, cool dessert for summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Excellent! I made for an April Fool's birthday party and served along with homemade pound cake. Everyone enjoyed this tasty recipe which made a beautiful presentation. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding heavy peach syrup instead of pineapple (didn't have any on hand). I buttered and then coated a springform pan (with removable tube) with graham crackers. I really do not see the need for this step as when it is removed the graham cracker crumbs are almost invisible. This is a keeper and one I will make again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I don't even like jello very much, but this stuff is good! I helped my 13 y.o. make this, and it looked like we had a science project going on! A couple of tips, if you have a springform pan, use it! Mine has a tube pan insert so it was perfect. Makes it effortless to unmold this. I noticed several reviews where people were wondering what to do with the butter and crumbs. Just butter the bottom of the pan and scatter the crumbs in, shake around and dump out the excess. Vanilla wafers worked great for us. Make sure the pineapple is in syrup, not juice, the thickness and sweetness is important. Also, I think using real whipping cream is a must, forget the coolwhip...too thick and artificial tasting. This makes such a pretty dessert, perfect for summer cook-outs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is not the recipe. You must use 6 oz boxes of jello and follow the instructions. This recipe using 3 oz boxes would be terrible. I have made this for many years and you must use 6'ers. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is tangy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Very tasty and light dessert. I totally omitted the whole graham cracker part; it didn't even appeal to me. I cut the recipe in 1/2 since it was just for my husband and myself, and put it in an 8x8" pyrex dish. I cut it into 9 squares, and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarendon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I AM A LITTLE CONFUSED AS RECIPE CALLS FOR LARGE BOX OF JELLO AND I USED SMALL WITH THE AMOUNT OF WATER CALLED FOR AND IT CAME OUT FINE. I LATER FOUND ANOTHER RECIPE 'BROKEN WINDOW GLASS' WHICH IS ALMOST A DUPLICATE RECIPE - ONLY DIFFERENCE IS WHICH SIZE BOX OF JELLO TO USE. THAT IS REASON I ONLY GAVE A 4 RATING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
This was marvelous. A friend of mine told me that her grandmother used to make this when she was little and she adored this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States