Chuck's Molasses French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I would give this 5 stars with a lot more spices. Although it has molasses we still needed nutmeg and more cinnamon with some clove. YUM! Also we used Almond milk instead of heavy cream. Our new favorite french toast recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
The flavoring of the molasses is subtle and is quite delicious. I sprinkled in a lot more cinnamon than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Even though I healthied this up by using whole wheat bread and milk in place of the cream I though this was fantastic. I was a little heavier with my spices but it's the molasses that really makes this dish. It adds such depth. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This recipe is so good! I made it at a family camp out with the boy scouts. I whipped up the custard the night before at home and put it in the cooler. All we had was Shop n Save white bread but it was oh so tasty and it had rave reviews from the scouts and leaders! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made several adjustments to the recipe and the result was what I call the perfect french toast. I used 2 tbsp of molasses. I whisked in about 3 tbsp of flour and 2 tbsp of sugar into the egg/milk mixture. I did not have cream so I used milk and still got good results. I also put in a small pinch of salt. I read that putting flour into the milk mixture will help the bread to get crispier and it did!! Also, use lots of butter in your pan which helps the bread to get a crispier coating. The result is a french toast with a nice crispy brown outside and the inside had a nice combination of a bread / custard-like texture. I do not like french toast that has a heavy custard texture on the inside!! The flavor has a nice balance of sweet and somewhat savory with the ginger/salt combination. Oh and I also added a dash of nutmeg as I do to most things that I bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Excellent! I did choose to add extra ginger and cinnamon like other reviewers. And I only had thick butt ends of cinnamon raisin bread, which I believe made it even better! Mmm. This recipe is definitely worth a bookmark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
HUGE hit with all of us. We absolutely loved this. I don't keep challah bread on hand so I used the whole wheat I had at home. Also, because I did not have heavy cream, I used fat free evaporated milk because it's good at mimicking the thickness and richness of cream. I doubled this recipe (we're big on french toast in this house--my husband and kids can eat almost a whole loaf in one sitting) and I was a little more liberal with the spices. I served this with my homemade maple-vanilla syrup and we all just loved this french toast. This might be my new go-to recipe to make french toast from now on. NOTE: I did not use the butter to cook the french toast. I used my huge countertop grill which is VERY non-stick, so the butter was unnecessary. We spread it on the hot french toast after. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
loved it a great way to spice up your everyday french toast with a more bold taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
So good. I used Pumpkin Challah bread and it really made it more perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hrblindberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
The color and subtle flavor added by the molasses was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States