Chuck's Molasses French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
HUGE hit with all of us. We absolutely loved this. I don't keep challah bread on hand so I used the whole wheat I had at home. Also, because I did not have heavy cream, I used fat free evaporated milk because it's good at mimicking the thickness and richness of cream. I doubled this recipe (we're big on french toast in this house--my husband and kids can eat almost a whole loaf in one sitting) and I was a little more liberal with the spices. I served this with my homemade maple-vanilla syrup and we all just loved this french toast. This might be my new go-to recipe to make french toast from now on. NOTE: I did not use the butter to cook the french toast. I used my huge countertop grill which is VERY non-stick, so the butter was unnecessary. We spread it on the hot french toast after. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
as is, this was just so-so for us. i think next time we'll try the other reviewers suggestions and increase the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Ehhh...it's OK. The molasses flavor was pretty strong. I added a little extra ginger and cinnamon and also added some nutmeg, but none of that really came through over the molasses. Not terrible, but I don't think I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I would give this 5 stars with a lot more spices. Although it has molasses we still needed nutmeg and more cinnamon with some clove. YUM! Also we used Almond milk instead of heavy cream. Our new favorite french toast recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used wheat bread and regular milk, so i was not thrilled about this recipe... although my changes probably have everything to do with it. Will definitely make again, next time when i have challah on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Delicious change up to a standard recipe! Didn't have ginger on hand but otherwise followed the recipe. Molasses added a subtle flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This is a nice change from regular French toast. If you like gingerbread you probably will like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
loved it a great way to spice up your everyday french toast with a more bold taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
So good. I used Pumpkin Challah bread and it really made it more perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hrblindberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Even though I healthied this up by using whole wheat bread and milk in place of the cream I though this was fantastic. I was a little heavier with my spices but it's the molasses that really makes this dish. It adds such depth. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States