Chuck's Molasses French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Excellent! I did choose to add extra ginger and cinnamon like other reviewers. And I only had thick butt ends of cinnamon raisin bread, which I believe made it even better! Mmm. This recipe is definitely worth a bookmark!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made several adjustments to the recipe and the result was what I call the perfect french toast. I used 2 tbsp of molasses. I whisked in about 3 tbsp of flour and 2 tbsp of sugar into the egg/milk mixture. I did not have cream so I used milk and still got good results. I also put in a small pinch of salt. I read that putting flour into the milk mixture will help the bread to get crispier and it did!! Also, use lots of butter in your pan which helps the bread to get a crispier coating. The result is a french toast with a nice crispy brown outside and the inside had a nice combination of a bread / custard-like texture. I do not like french toast that has a heavy custard texture on the inside!! The flavor has a nice balance of sweet and somewhat savory with the ginger/salt combination. Oh and I also added a dash of nutmeg as I do to most things that I bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
The flavoring of the molasses is subtle and is quite delicious. I sprinkled in a lot more cinnamon than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
EXCELLENT. Used approximately half a tsp of cinnamon + a pinch more, and added chopped pecans on top of each slice. The flavor of the pecans intensified due to the cooking. Incredibly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was wonderul, thank you for the recipe. I didn't have any Challah bread and used sprouted bread (Ezekiel bread). The batter only made enouh to cover 8 slices of bread so I will double it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHartley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
The color and subtle flavor added by the molasses was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This recipe is so good! I made it at a family camp out with the boy scouts. I whipped up the custard the night before at home and put it in the cooler. All we had was Shop n Save white bread but it was oh so tasty and it had rave reviews from the scouts and leaders! Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missmiavega

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palestine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Peters, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Yum...the texture in these is great! All caramelized and yummy. Don't be afraid to let these get really well done-that's how they're best. I have discovered though that i am really not a fan of molasses, no matter how hard i try. :) I think i'll leave it out next time... Oh, and i only used 2 T of molasses and added a bit more than a pinch of cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nert
Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Even though I healthied this up by using whole wheat bread and milk in place of the cream I though this was fantastic. I was a little heavier with my spices but it's the molasses that really makes this dish. It adds such depth. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
So good. I used Pumpkin Challah bread and it really made it more perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hrblindberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States