Chuck's Molasses French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Ehhh...it's OK. The molasses flavor was pretty strong. I added a little extra ginger and cinnamon and also added some nutmeg, but none of that really came through over the molasses. Not terrible, but I don't think I'll make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I would give this 5 stars with a lot more spices. Although it has molasses we still needed nutmeg and more cinnamon with some clove. YUM! Also we used Almond milk instead of heavy cream. Our new favorite french toast recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I used wheat bread and regular milk, so i was not thrilled about this recipe... although my changes probably have everything to do with it. Will definitely make again, next time when i have challah on hand
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Delicious change up to a standard recipe! Didn't have ginger on hand but otherwise followed the recipe. Molasses added a subtle flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This is a nice change from regular French toast. If you like gingerbread you probably will like this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
loved it a great way to spice up your everyday french toast with a more bold taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
So good. I used Pumpkin Challah bread and it really made it more perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hrblindberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah-May
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Even though I healthied this up by using whole wheat bread and milk in place of the cream I though this was fantastic. I was a little heavier with my spices but it's the molasses that really makes this dish. It adds such depth. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah-May

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Christopher Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Yum...the texture in these is great! All caramelized and yummy. Don't be afraid to let these get really well done-that's how they're best. I have discovered though that i am really not a fan of molasses, no matter how hard i try. :) I think i'll leave it out next time... Oh, and i only used 2 T of molasses and added a bit more than a pinch of cinnamon sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nert
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I love French Toast and molasses....but just wasn't crazy about this recipe. I did dust with powdered sugar and thought that helped....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy French Toast

See how to make wonderfully light and fluffy French toast.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

How to Make French Toast

See how to make French toast—and which bread makes the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States