Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
After having made bland, boring macaroni and cheese for years, I tried this recipe and it was outstanding! My husband and I loved it! And I followed the recipe very loosely. I didn't include the topping (b/c I don't care for crumbs in pasta) and I didn't measure any ingredients, but included them all to taste. I admit... I only glanced over the ingredients and went out to buy the different cheeses. I didn't even realize the original recipe didn't call for milk. I have always added milk to mac & cheese, so I poured evaporated milk into the pasta and cheese mixture, with one beaten egg and I melted it for moments on a low fire (which eliminated the issue with the curds of cottage cheese (I hate curd texture too). My cheeses blended smoothly and wow, are we impressed! The recipe was easy and nothing short of delicious (even followed loosely). Thank you much Chuck, for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I make this every year for Thanksgiving and it's amazing!! I use twirly pasta instead of elbow. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alysha Becker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
This is a really good, subtly a-typical mac n cheese. Much more flavor depth than your run-of-the-mill box mac n cheese but still mild enough to please the picky eaters. I made a double batch, half as-written, half with the addition of ham, mushrooms and peas--both were tasty but I definitely prefer the version with ham and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Turned out a little dry. Definitely will add something to make it creamier and cheesier, and less bread crumbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Yunk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Hey, hey, hey this is it! I use Goldfish Parmesan crackers for the topping and it is GREAT. I make it at least once a month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
I have made this many times and it is such a great go to recipe! Adding stuff to it as well is easy and great for that left over ham, sausage, tomatoes, asparagus, or anything that you need to use up when making this recipe. I usually make a double batch when I make this mac and cheese. I use the breadcrumbs sometimes, but found that I like the French's French Fried Onions or comparable best. If I bring it to a potluck however, adding a cup of whole milk keeps it from getting dried out on a plate warmer. But a single batch with a family of four, with growing teenagers you do not have to worry about it hanging around or being reheated for leftovers, LOL! Thanks for the great recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nick McCullough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
tried this recipe a few times, while it was easy to make, it always turned out somewhat bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Love this Mac and Cheese recipe. I can't count how many times I've made it but every event I've made it for, I get tons of compliments. I make it just how the recipe is written, no need to change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2015
Pretty bland IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Roberts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This is a really good mac and cheese recipe. I wasn't a really big fan of the bread crumbs but I think that is just a matter of taste. My mom did like the bread crumbs. Her only request was that I cut down on the amount that I put on top. This has gone to the top of my favorite mac and cheese recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,295) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States