Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
After reading a few negative reviews, I was nervous to try this, but then again, it's pasta and cheese....how does it really end up bad? I did read that it wasn't cheesy enough so I doubled the cheese (maybe it's because I'm from Wisconsin though too) and skipped the cottage cheese. Instead I used a little bit of heavy whipping cream & milk since I needed to get rid of it. It turned out very good. My boyfriend said he liked it even better for lunch the next day after it had time to sit. We added chicken sausage to the recipe and it complimented the mac and cheese perfectly. Next time we will try adding beef & some hot sauce to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
After trying countless Mac and Cheese recipes, my two very picky children approved of this dish (without the bread crumb topping). I would have given 5 stars, except it was a bit too salty and fatty for my taste, even though I omitted the salt from the recipe. Next time, I will again omit the salt AND use low sodium and low fat sour cream and cheeses. I would love to make it a little bit healthier somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Loved it, used a little milk, more cheese & less breadcrumbs but the badic recipe was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
So, there are some people who like their mac and cheese a bit dryer, and some that prefer velvety mac and cheese. This one's on the dryer end, which I personally like. HOWEVER, I've modified this to incorporate some added creaminess by making a roux, adding cheese to it, pepper, paprika and shaved garlic. I add the cheese mixture to some added cheddar, sour cream and cottage cheese. This mac and cheese is perfect. I really enjoy the little pieces of cottage cheese throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
mehh nothing special- made exactly as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chasityk5592

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
I have not met anyone that doesn't like this mac and cheese recipe. I've doubled it, tripled it, even put a pan in the freezer for my boyfriend before I went out of town. Sometimes, I like to use smoked gouda instead of sharp cheddar and sprinkle a little cayenne in as well. I also always use panko breadcrumbs for the ultimate crispy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
It was okay. It wasn't cheesey enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Not really to our taste. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Excellent recipe...so easy and everyone e loved it...my only suggestion would to blend the cottage cheese and sour cream. I didn't like seeing the curds of the cottage cheese. Overall excellent and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Dry, so so dry. Not at all what we expected. It needs WAY more cheese. I followed the directions to a T and then added a small amount of half & half based on several reviews stating that it because dry the next day for leftovers and was still dry. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 2,279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States